Survey says….

4 Nov

 

I’m not even American and I’m excited. I’m hopeful. I’m watching your election and feeling elated and hopeful and looking to the future with stars in my eyes, imagining your next president as someone different, someone who will pick your country up like a small fallen child, dust it off, and set it on the right course again.

I’m only your neighbour and I’m so excited I could spit. We’re used to same old same old up here. But for y’all down there-it’s like you’re on the cusp of something almost magical after so much scary, scary stuff.

Hope. I has some. And it sparkles.

Get out and vote. Bring snacks and a book, cause lord, you guys are bringing it. But vote.

I’ll be up late watching too. 🙂

11 Responses to “Survey says….”

  1. Bonbon November 4, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    I’m afraid to get too optomistic. But can you scout around for some land in Canada for us? If McCain wins I have to get out of this country.

  2. Jennifer November 4, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    I’m bored with it. Both are like used car salesmen. McCain scares the crap outta me, and I wonder what Obama may realllly be like. I mean, GWB was loved by many at one point too.

  3. Kelly O November 4, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    I think a lot of Americans are afraid of getting too optimistic. The sting of Y2K still burns; I’m consistently thisclose to crying today. You’re right, we’re on the cusp of something great….

    God I need a drink.

  4. Caitlin November 4, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    I drove past where I vote about 9pm last night and there were already people my age out waiting to vote. When I got there before 6am this morning, there were already several hundred people in line. However, there are already irregularities cropping up, so we’ll see. I am cautiously hopeful until the returns start coming in.

  5. bromac November 4, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    I am hearing that my polling place is in and out. Whew!

    I am so excited. I feel, like you do, that we are on the cusp of something historic, something BIG. I am soo nervous that we won’t be able to pull it off. I don’t know where our country will end up if that is the case.

    I am also very, VERY ready to be done with the election. The negativity and hate can be mind-numbing.

  6. nessa November 4, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    Hopefully we won’t be up to late. Hopefully it is a landslide of historic proportions and they call it early. Hopefully.

  7. misspudding November 4, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    The was a great post. I really loved your y’all. 🙂

    I am so nervous! I wasn’t on the Obama bandwagon, for the most part, until the last few weeks, though I was leaning toward him. I would’ve never voted for McCain after he put that evil thing on the ballot with him. I do lean Libertarian, though (voted Lib in 2000 and 2004 because there didn’t seem like any other options). Oh, and yes, we do have more than two political parties here…

    Your post signifies to me that the world is watching us, waiting for great news or that we’ve fucked up again. You’re all like big brothers who’ve matured much earlier than us, who are waiting for their “so much potential” little brother or sister to finally grow up.

    I hope we finally have.

  8. Gabriel... November 4, 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    Both McCain and Obama have incredible narratives, and both would make great presidents. But both support policies which would make it impossible to get elected here. Mr. Obama is going to win, the only question is by how much. The dynamic between Prime Minister Harper and President Obama is going to be interesting to watch. Especially if after the election President Obama still believes reopening NAFTA would a good idea.

  9. thordora November 4, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    I’m looking forward to that. Harper is such a putzy looking guy-should be interesting to watch how he looks next to Obama, and how he deals with the new US.

    I have my doubts about McCain being a great president. I’ve always felt he was too caught up in his own hype.

  10. Gabriel... November 4, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    McCain’s campaign was all about him and his story, while Obama’s campaign was all about the country. I think I saw someone say that on Charlie Rose a few nights ago, but you can see the difference in any of their early campaign commercials. Eventually every time McCain was introduced the person doing the introduction had to include twenty minutes on McCain’s time in Vietnam and how mavericky he was, and it weighed the whole campaign down.

    “…and how he deals with the new US.”

    I think it’s the other way around, which is why I doubt very much President Obama is going to reopen NAFTA. We have what they want, so they’ll have to deal with us… they’ll want water to be included in a new NAFTA, and we’ve still got the oil they want. It would be interesting… especially since the first thing PM Harper did after the October election was to announce we’re negotiating a brand new FTA with the European Union.

  11. bromac November 5, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    WOOHOO! I AM SO PROUD OF AMERICANS RIGHT NOW!!!

Leave a Reply

