Hope. I DEFINITELY has some. :)

5 Nov

So now, they have some hope.

And it’s real, or at least, it seems real to this green Canadian who watched the early returns while painting her nails pink, the color of Easter and spring, and went to bed once Ohio was called, knowing it was all done except the counting.

I watched his speech this morning, and even my jaded Canadian eyes teared up and snivelled, thinking how wonderful it is that finally, a GOOD person was elected. A person who appears to have the best interests of a nation at heart, a nation he so obviously loved.

I could be cynical. I could be afraid for the next four years, for the battles he’s in for, the utter tragic mess he’s left with. But I refuse to be.

Instead, I want to think about my daughters, and the world they’ll now grow up in. To them, a black man as a leader will not be strange, will not be limited to the Jesse Jackson’s and Al Sharpton’s of the world. To them it will be normal, like a united Germany. I remember the Wall coming down, and even at 11 or 12, it was a heady moment, a moment full of hope and change and the promise fulfilled-the promise that eventually, someone will do the right thing.

It feels like Obama is that promise. And perhaps he’s just change-new pants we’re happy with but will tire with soon enough. But it’s change-and I believe with all my heart that change is only good. Change is needed, in the stagnant corners of a country that showed itself willing to stand in lines for hours to exercise their right! (Never in Canada would this happen. Never. We have the Chia Pet’s for candidates most years and frankly, we’re not the US) Change is wanted, so strongly that most Americans VOTED. Change is wanted.

I watched his speech, and teared up when I would see the face of a child, a child who will know looks at his or her skin and realize it truly doesn’t matter. A child who will now come of age in a world that has shifted slightly, and without the wounds of the 60’s. A child who will trace MLK and Malcolm X and Rosa Parks and the millions of others who fought for equality to this moment, and many others to come. A child who will understand that this is what America stands for, what even Canada stands for.

A place where we’re all in it together, and that somethings, they just don’t matter, be it skin color or hair length or who your Aunt is.

A place that lets a little boy stare up at the President, and for the first time, see himself.

_44628741_obama_boy_afp226

(And can we talk about, for a minute, how AWESOME it was that he said GAY and not “same sex” or “alternative”-this guy, he has the awesome. )

12 Responses to “Hope. I DEFINITELY has some. :)”

  1. daureen November 5, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    I never ever thought I’d witness this moment in our lifetime… there are so many changes happenning now, and the world is celebrating. Reminds me that anything is possible indeed, even when the odds seem insurmountable… BTW, love the new masthead with the cassette tape! Classic!

  2. crazymumma November 5, 2008 at 1:16 pm #

    I know. Its fairly awesome isn’t it.

  3. charlotteotter November 5, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    I agree – he has the awesome. In a big way. I watched the speech too and cried the whole way through. He is a statesman similar to Mandela, and is compassionate and humane to boot. The world is so ready for a great, and good, leader.

  4. nessa November 5, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    I stayed up to watch his speech and was frigging sobbing and so pissed that I wasn’t down there to see it in person.

    I haz it too.

  5. daisybones November 5, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    “A place that lets a little boy stare up at the President, and for the first time, see himself.”

    Now you’re making me cry again! This is such a beautiful day:)

  6. niobe November 5, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    I was pretty happy until I came up against a sharp reminder of how far we still have to go.

  7. Gwen November 5, 2008 at 6:32 pm #

    What’s exciting for me is to see how excited my own children are. It’s like there’s a fever, only it’s the best kind, and its contagion is irresistible.

    But still, I don’t envy Obama the job he has ahead of him.

  8. sweetsalty kate November 5, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    me too. gloriously put.

  9. Hannah November 5, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    Yeah, me in tears today watching the speech again… and Isaac asking me why… and me realizing that by the time he’s old enough to understand my explanation, a black president won’t be at all unusual or remarkable. And then I really went to pieces.

    Wish I could be a fly on the wall for his first meeting with Stephen Harper, though.

  10. Marcy November 5, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    There are things I am concerned about, how they will play out — and I am darkly disgusted with racist comments being made (still!?!), but I am grateful for a country where free and non-violent elections are the norm, and am interested in what will happen in the next four years.

  11. CharmingBitch November 6, 2008 at 1:33 am #

    I noted the same thing last night; it was AWESOME to hear our new President say GAY not like a dirty word, not subbing in ”alternative lifestyle” or some such. I feel hope for the first time in a long time for our country and by extension the world as a whole.

    YES WE CAN!! YES WE DID!!

  12. landismom November 6, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    Yeah, he has teh awesome. I know that I’ll eventually get over the sense of euphoria that I’m imbued with right now. But I feel a little bit like that quote, “a mind, once expanded to include a new idea, can never go back to its original proportions” (I paraphrase). Our country will never go back to the place where a black person can’t get elected president, no matter what else happens.

Leave a Reply

