I’ll be the one who breaks my (your) heart.

8 Apr

 

soundtrack to a place

where I was wind and whisper and

secret I hovered on your lips and I

seized your legs and held you

laughing my eyes were sparkles in your hands

sparkles tiptoeing on the riverbed

in the sunlight, glimmering behind us.

 

What of moment held breathless

aloft, the scent of 15 alive inside us

bright/dim like stars shuddering in yesterday.

We, you, I, we clasp sweaty palms and

run, lie down, wet grass, cold concrete

cold, wet hearts.

 

Purples that spin, blackberries on legs which

carouse. Move according to plan, borne of

short years, oh so short consequences.

We held sweaty palms through all this

your heart in my teeth, in my maw

cross eyed smile holding still mine.

 

It was so very long ago. I can

smell it on your skin and taste it

in your worried words. We miss it so.

2 Responses to “I’ll be the one who breaks my (your) heart.”

  1. daisybones April 8, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    breathtaking. i wish i could make a digital piece of text show you that i say that in a quiet, reverent whisper.

  2. thordora April 9, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    Thank you.
    I want to mess with it a little-it’s meant to be from the perspective of time, of that particular moment of teenage time, and I’m not sure that’s conveyed.

    And doesn’t that song make your heart hurt like it did at that age? All full and black or white?

Leave a Reply

