I just knew it.

4 Mar

So who do you think walked out of her doctor’s office with a script for Ativan?

If you guessed me, and not that pissy guy with the big bald spot, you’d be right.

“I’m really sure it’s anxiety.”

What part of “the lithium took AWAY my anxiety!” is hard to grasp? Really?

He also gave me some Prevacid, and directions for blood work and an ECG. But he’s stuck on anxiety.

I’m not anxious! Really! If I was still anxious, I wouldn’t have gone to the Christmas party in December. I wouldn’t be laughing with coworkers, or planning to attend our little Maritime BlogHer party this summer. I would be HIDING. I KNOW what my anxiety feels like. This ain’t it. I mean, would it be anxiety if it got WORSE from eating like shit, and if I had hearburn?

So….we’ll see what the prevacid does. And hope that it works, and that this is all it is.

And I’ll take the Ativan now and again at home….cause Calgon ain’t got nothing on it….

13 Responses to “I just knew it.”

  1. daisybones March 4, 2008 at 5:01 pm #

    Yeah, you just feel free to mail my ass some Ativan annnnnyyy time;)

    Meh: doctors suck.

  2. radical mama March 4, 2008 at 5:03 pm #

    Grrrr… doctors.

  3. Kathy March 4, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    The breathing problems? I’d get a second opinion. I’m not a doctor, but I’ve had similar symptoms and mine have been stomach related.

  4. thordora March 4, 2008 at 5:40 pm #

    Considering he hasn’t seen me in a year, I found it laughable as well.

    Getting a second opinion is very difficult around here. We’ll just press the issue in 3 or 4 weeks if need be. (Also trying to avoid the barium swallow. That sucked at 12 when I didn’t know what was coming. I can only imagine how much it will suck now)

  5. Hannah March 4, 2008 at 8:50 pm #

    Just… wow. I’m not a doctor but maybe I should be. I can’t believe he disregarded the fact that your breathing does seem to be related to what you eat! So, spicy food makes you anxious? Yeesh.

  6. mercurial scribe March 5, 2008 at 12:18 am #

    Damn! I hate it when they don’t listen.

  7. Gabriel... March 5, 2008 at 2:26 am #

    Just curious… and this has nothing to do with your breathing or anything else, how often are you going in for Lithium blood tests?

  8. marcelarhodus March 5, 2008 at 5:43 am #

    why is it so hard to get a second opinion?
    can you change your primary care doctor then?

    It certainly is not good that he dismisses the issue as anxiety and gives you a prescription just like that with no further checking into what could be the problem.
    I hate it when doctors don’t listen to what you’re telling them, how is it anxiety if you see a difference depending on the food you eat??

    makes you want to slap them…

  9. thordora March 5, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    When she sends me-every month or so-my levels were fine last month…what freaks me out is that she never tests my thyroid levels-thankfully my GP is…

  10. thordora March 5, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    Can’t get a new doc. Doctor shortage in Canada-REALLY bad in NB.

    The prevacid seems to be working, so cross fingers. I’ll say the chill pills for my 5:55AM flight on Monday…

  11. Candy March 5, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Well, Prevacid is good for what ails ya. Things that I don’t associate with gastric reflux, tend to always be gastric reflux. So maybe that’ll help.

  12. bipolarlawyercook March 5, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    I heart me some ativan, especially right now with my mom around the bend and trying to case manage from 3000 miles away. I don’t take it during the day, but as soon as I get home, I suck one of those puppies down. I don’t get physical anxiety symptoms, just circling thoughts, no concentration, shitty sleep, and irritability.

    But um, not ruling out physical causes first? Scary as shit.

  13. thordora March 6, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    I’ve been taking the Prevacid. It’s been (mostly) working-along with controlling my diet better.

    Took an Ativan for shits and giggles last night. My breathing seemed to actually get worse, although that could have been the peaches and oranges I was eating.

    Welcome to Canadian Health Care-the land where you search endlessly for a doctor, and when you find one, you’re happy just to have them, even if they suck monkey balls.

    Sigh.

Leave a Reply

