Second After

2 Nov

And may I present the opening bit of the novel I’m writing (or attempting to write) this month:

There was a second Delilah, a second where my breath caught in your hand, where you held me solid to this earth, and I loved you more than my life itself, I loved you inside and outside and my soul it crept towards you and painted itself into the air surrounding your soft weeping head. Did you feel it? Could you feel me? Did the air alter with me? It was brief, and lonely, the knowledge that you felt nothing but your unending grief and loss. Your tears landed on the bed next to my cooling skin, and I shed my own, released to the ether.  I felt myself beginning to flutter then, to release into the air, to let go, loose touch. Your sobs grew quiet, drawn into you. Your shoulders shook the bed, yet I felt it less and less. Your father came in then, and held you for some many long terrible moments, and I felt my heart rend itself from my chest even though I was no longer there with it.

5 Responses to “Second After”

  1. sweetsalty kate November 2, 2007 at 10:16 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I bow to you. A novel in a month! What a cool idea. Sounds incredibly evocative. Go! Go! Go!

  2. bine November 3, 2007 at 12:45 pm #

    that is beautiful. really, truly. can’t wait to read it all. you do wonders with words.

  3. missy November 3, 2007 at 6:57 pm #

    You have a way with words…

    Okay, I just thought that was better than wow.

  4. charlotteotter November 4, 2007 at 8:43 am #

    I want to read all of it. Keep going!

  5. daisybones November 5, 2007 at 2:58 pm #

    I can’t even conceive of undertaking that emotional task. I’m breathless with awe that you are doing this. And these words are so lyrical, and dense and heavy…

Leave a Reply

