Month of Endless Posts

1 Nov

I stupidly decided to do both NaNoWrMo AND NaBloPoMo. I’m trying to force myself into learning some discipline with my writing and my time, and this seems like a good way to do it. Plus, it’s helping tie into some of the changes I want around here. And really, I believe that I post everyday for the most part anyway. It’s not like I’m ever short on things to say.

So, for November, the majority of my posts will follow a similar structure. Each will revolve around a random quote that I have selected. However, I’m also going to ask that you guys leave me your favorite quotes. I’ll do my best to write quotes around them. (No cheese please.) I’m trying to give myself something to write against, like an assignment.

For NaNoWrMo, I’m going to try and write the story of losing my mother from her perspective-the story of a mother who dies too young and leave’s someone behind who needs her. I’ve been trying to write my story for a long time, and who knows. Maybe this time it will work.

Anyone else doing either? If so, what are your plans/goals/hopes?

10 Responses to “Month of Endless Posts”

  1. The Blogger November 1, 2007 at 11:33 pm #

    Good Luck! I am doing NaNoWriMo. For some reason, i am incapable of discovering how to update my word count. Grrr…

  2. nursemyra November 2, 2007 at 5:33 am #

    how about “the dogs bark but the caravan moves on”?

  3. Gwen November 2, 2007 at 8:38 am #

    I’ve been thinking a bit about death from the perspective of the person who dies, so I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with it.

    “Do not let me hear
    Of the wisdom of old men, but rahter of their folly,
    Their fear of fear and frenzy, their fear of possession,
    Of belonging to another, or to others, or to God.
    The only wisdom we can hope to acquire
    Is the wisdom of humility: humility is endless.” T.S. Eliot, East Coker

    and:

    “The main battlefield for good is not the open ground of the public arena but the small clearing of each heart. ” Yann Martel, The Life of Pi

  4. Cori November 2, 2007 at 8:45 am #

    “Humility is no substitute for a good personality” – Fran Liebowitz

    Also, Groucho Marx has some really funny, smart quotes. Just google it. I can’t remember them all off the top of my head.

    Good luck with all the writing!

  5. Marcy November 2, 2007 at 12:13 pm #

    If a thing’s worth doing, it’s worth doing badly. G. K. Chesterton.

    I think NaNoWriMo would be fun, but I don’t think I could do it.

  6. thordora November 2, 2007 at 12:26 pm #

    oooh! I like that one! I’m so using that one tonight…

  7. merseydotes November 2, 2007 at 12:59 pm #

    Dorothy Parker had some gems. How about “If you want to know what God thinks of money, just look at the people he gave it to.”

  8. marcelarhodus November 2, 2007 at 4:49 pm #

    my personal favorites are these two:

    “Everything works out in the end.
    If it has not worked out, it’s not the end.”

    don’t know who said this, but it’s my personal mantra.

    “Life is tough, but, it’s tougher if you are stupid”
    John Wayne

    so so true…

  9. karriew November 2, 2007 at 5:15 pm #

    I think my November goal is to READ a post a day. So far behind….

  10. Kelly O November 2, 2007 at 6:38 pm #

    I’m NaBloPoMo’ing, but goallessly. My hope is that I don’t bore my sister, who is my only regular reader.

    I’m looking forward to reading your posts!

Leave a Reply

