“Perhaps the world’s second worst crime is boredom. The first is being a bore.”

7 Nov

Do you ever get sick of the internet?

I mean really. Do you ever go through your Google Reader, or your bloglines and think “What a bunch of fucking whiners!”

I do. Frequently. People getting indignant and offended over someone else stopping to say they were offended, people complaining that their shoes aren’t the right color, or that their child wasn’t smiled at on the playground by the right children.

Whining whining whining.

Now granted, I’m perfectly capable of perpetrating a suck fest on the rest of you. 9 times out of 10, I forgive myself because it’s for legitimate reasons like wanting to kill myself. When it’s not, you’re free to hate me. And I forgive those who have their own reasons to whine, those whose lives truly are stressful and full of pain, not those whose reason for ulceration is that they couldn’t choose which pair of shoes they wanted at Zappo’s.

Shouldn’t self discovery include some magic, and wonder? Shouldn’t individuals who, by in large, aren’t in positions where they are suffering, be able to find something else to talk about aside from staging their house?

I stepped back today and realized exactly why people make fun of “mommybloggers”. Because SOOOOOOOO many of them suck. And yet have audiences. Why is that? Is it so they can have suckfests all together? Is it so no one feels outwitted by anyone else? Is it because the group closes in like lemmings, petting and oohing and ahhing over the poor poor blogger! (I will make an exception here for Jane and her fucking bisquick however. That was just classic)

A lot of this comes down to the same reasons I never understood why certain girls were popular in high school. Generally, they were the most insipid, useless group of girls around. And yet, people flocked to stupidity.

Or is it like when you hang around with a fat/ugly friend-you feel better because someone else is dumber/fatter/ugliler than you?

I’m just gritting my teeth and unsubscribing lately, and regretting following links. Between the stupidity and the 4000 ads that crash my browser, I’m just about to stop trying to find new people to read.

So tell me-who SHOULD I be reading that I may not already be?

29 Responses to ““Perhaps the world’s second worst crime is boredom. The first is being a bore.””

  1. Erika Jurney, Plain Jane Mom November 7, 2007 at 3:54 pm #

    Thank you for making an exception for me 🙂

  2. Gwen November 7, 2007 at 4:09 pm #

    There’s this really good writer, out of Canada, I think, what’s her name again? Thordora. Yeah, her. You should really check her out.

    Dude, I have 11 feeds left in Reader. 11. What does that tell you?

  3. Netter November 7, 2007 at 4:24 pm #

    I don’t read many mommy blogs. Mostly I go where the knitting is (and there are tons of them I don’t read as well).

  4. hello insomnia November 7, 2007 at 4:26 pm #

    Oh man, Thordora. Again, you have said it much better than I could. There’s a blog that gets tons of comments even though he/she writes three sentence posts and I have to wonder WHY? Not that jealous or anything. No….

  5. sweetsalty kate November 7, 2007 at 4:42 pm #

    oh, for the love of christ, the broswer-crashing ads. How I loathe that. And the partial feeds – I loathe that too. The thing that really getS me, though, aside from the whining, is the…

    (CLICK HERE FOR MORE…)

  6. thordora November 7, 2007 at 4:46 pm #

    ANYTHING that acts like I should feel blessed that I’m reading it PISSES ME OFF. I think there are two partial feeds I read, and that’s only cause I really like the writers (Hi Ms. Chicken! Hi jen!)

    The worst seem to be blogher ads. They’re HUGE and freeze everything up. I’ve had people say it’s my system, but when it happens on three different computers, it ain’t me anymore.

  7. Eden November 7, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    I haven’t read PJM in ages. The fucking Bisquick slayed me.

    I’m w/ Netter. Go where the knitting is… or whatever OTHER interest you might find. Some of the bloggers happen to be parents as well. That’s how I find folks whose stuff I like to read. Also in the blogrolls of other bloggers.

  8. thordora November 7, 2007 at 4:51 pm #

    The blogrolls of others is what pissed me off in the first place. But I shall try, try again.

    Fucking Bisquick.

  9. Jennifer November 7, 2007 at 5:03 pm #

    Bite me.

    A personal beef of mine is where I may read one good post, I click over and see 1148 comments on the post. They’ve had a blog for all of 3 days and now are a “supastar??” like WTF?

    Then I get depressed because I have all of 4 readers in the 2+ years I’ve been blogging. Maybe it’s cause I don’t belong to 900 rings? Maybe its cause I suck? Maybe it’s cause I’ll never be one of the cool kids, no matter how much I try. Maybe its cause I like to feel sorry for myself and am really an attention seeking drama ho?

    I had reduced my reading while I was reading, now I’m working my way back to 50.

    *sigh*

  10. Jennifer November 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh, and don’t read blogrolls, read the bloglines, just because someone is on a blogroll dosen’t mean that they are read. Which is why I took mine down. I read every blog on my lines.

  11. merseydotes November 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm #

    The fat/ugly friend made me think of Teen Girl Squad (http://www.homestarrunner.com/tgsmenu.html), which someone linked to today and I hadn’t watched in ages, and the characters – Cheerleader, So and So, Whats Her Name and The Ugly One. Ha!

    mimi smartypants is still some of my favorite reading on the web.

  12. Marcy November 7, 2007 at 5:55 pm #

    I have found some interesting people (including yourself, I think) via the Tag Surfer feature at WordPress.com. I put in a whole bunch of tags I’m interested in but don’t write about, and removed some I write about but don’t want to read about.

  13. Caitlin November 7, 2007 at 6:02 pm #

    I guess because some of us are just broken dolls. Except the part of us that needs someone to give a shit about us didn’t get broken. Some of us don’t know how to be enough to matter to other people when they don’t need favors.

    Some of those “shoe whine” posts bother me more than others, because it seems they’re doing exactly what I did when I was 9 years old. I got teased a lot after I got skipped a grade. I used to pretend that I mattered to Joey MacIntyre, because somehow that made the kids teasing me not matter and I wouldn’t cry in front of them. I knew it was pathetic when I was doing it, but otherwise. the people to whom I mattered to was an empty set.

    And if I see a single shoe whine post out of the blue, that’s what it reminds me of – pretending you mattered to someone … anyone, because your people in real life have unintentionally made it clear that you don’t matter to them.

    Can’t think of any good blogs, but if you like comics and steampunk, you might like Girl Genius.

  14. Jennifer November 7, 2007 at 6:31 pm #

    “pretending you mattered to someone … anyone, because your people in real life have unintentionally made it clear that you don’t matter to them.”

    This is where I am right now. I can’t even fucking vent about it on my damn blog because too many people in my RL read about it.

  15. thordora November 7, 2007 at 6:58 pm #

    Start a new one Jen. I have a few different sites-not all are known. It helps with the stuff you don’t want to share, if there is some.

  16. Judy November 7, 2007 at 7:01 pm #

    Well, I’m always shocked any time anyone I deem worth reading stops by and reads me. I set up my blog mostly to keep in touch with family, but I have made some good imaginary friends in the process. The whole blogging community/promotion/rings thing is too much for me. (Not a criticism, just not something I’m doing.)

    And no advice on who to read, that you aren’t reading already.
    I only read a few, really, and then spend the rest of my time reading fitness advice I don’t really use, and celebrity blogs to distract me from the helplessness I feel reading news blogs.

  17. sweetsalty kate November 7, 2007 at 8:04 pm #

    Yeo, it’s the blogher ads. They just about crash my entire computer. Those blogs come through a little better in Firefox, but well, ten frozen minutes later I’m usually too pissed off by that point try go back and find the new post again.

  18. sweetsalty kate November 7, 2007 at 8:05 pm #

    yeo! can you tell I’m nursing and typing one-handed?

    yep.

  19. thordora November 7, 2007 at 8:13 pm #

    I’m just glad it’s not me!

    Ads annoy me. Does anyone really make any real money from them?

    And I don’t miss the days of typing one handed.

  20. Brooke November 7, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    Oh, ouch.

    First: Yah. Right on. I think that too.

    Ruminating intently: For me, being a mommy blogger is akin to being in the homebirth club. How did I wind up a member there???

    And then I was: Oh. Ouch. Maybe she means me.

    Loved your post though. And found you through another fabulous Canadian Mommy Blogger because I was so smitten with the comments you leave on her blog.

    Cheers.

  21. marcelarhodus November 7, 2007 at 10:12 pm #

    like they say, one must kiss a lot of frogs to find the prince…
    you can click here and there and it’ll be boring and a whine-fest like you say and then out of nowhere after a zillion clicks that you can trace back, you find an excellent read that challenges and inspires you…
    that’s how I found yours.

  22. radical mama November 7, 2007 at 11:30 pm #

    I clean out my reader regularly. I might relate to a blog for a few months, and then something changes and I don’t get it anymore. I don’t read very many wordy blogs either. I like them, I just have limited time to read them and it frustrates me if I can’t through a post in less than 5 minutes.

  23. CharmingDriver November 7, 2007 at 11:36 pm #

    Girl, you read my mind. I am cleaning out my Reader THIS WEEK because I find myself getting, well not pissed, exactly but just, “OMG you can’t even be serious!” more often than not and that just isn’t good for anyone.

  24. thordora November 8, 2007 at 7:41 am #

    “OMG you can’t even be serious!”

    EXACTLY. Maybe that’s the point of NaBloPoMo, to help us weed out all the crap.

    And I don’t mean anyone who I read and comment on. I don’t leave comments on things I hate-so don’t worry Brooke!

    RM-I don’t mind wordy posts if they aren’t too long winded, and if they’re well written (so that means half of mine suck :P) Just not all the time. Brevity is the soul of all wit after all.

  25. radical mama November 8, 2007 at 9:22 am #

    Your posts are articulate but not a mile long, that’s why I like them. I can read something artful and intelligent, but I don’t need to do it in shifts because you stick to your point.

  26. Kind of Crunchy Mama November 8, 2007 at 5:22 pm #

    OK, you inspired me to do a big purge of the blogroll. There were blogs on there I hadn’t clicked on in months.

  27. Kathy November 9, 2007 at 8:13 am #

    Thank you for saying what I’ve been too chicken to say for the past two years. I probably do read a lot of blogs that have been pigeonholed as “mommy blogs” because the totally awesome, intelligent women who pen them happen to have children, but when I see 50+ comments on what is essentially a photo of the blogger’s new shade of toenail polish, I want to scream. You can call it sour grapes, but I’ll never have an “easy in.” I’ll admit I’m a lazy blogger, and sometimes just mail it in, but if you’re a childless woman with a personal blog — and you want an audience — you have to work that much harder.

    What’s bothering me lately is the cattiness and pettiness. It’s all very “6th grade slumber party.” I have no tolerance for that. If you don’t like someone’s site, simply don’t read it.

  28. thordora November 9, 2007 at 9:17 am #

    Someone needs to make a “suckfest free” badge that we can give the blogs that don’t suck. Although, someone will then try to suck up to one of said suck fests.

    I don’t get it. 6th grade slumber party is exactly it.

  29. karrie November 9, 2007 at 5:47 pm #

    I can’t even keep up with the blogs I do want to read.

    And weirdly enough, I like having an even lower profile blog that almost no one reads and I rarely update.

    And yeah. Fucking Bisquick. 🙂

Leave a comment