Blog for the MOTHER’S ACT!

24 Oct

I may not live in the USA, but I have suffered PPD, and have dealt with the BPD that resulted from it, or was at least made worse by it.

No one should have to live what I lived, or any of the ways many other women have. I remember in particular a woman jumping in front of the train at our local subway station with her baby shortly after he was born. She and her husband were both doctors, and her family was very concerned. And yet still, she and her son are dead from an affliction that can be helped if more healthcare providers would sit up and pay attention before and after birth. No one seems to pay attention to the mother’s mental state-at least, no one paid any attention to mine.

We no longer have a village around us to support us and help us get through the rought patches. Many women are isolated and alone when they give birth. And yet we wonder why they become depressed and in some cases, psychotic.

So today is the day to call your senators, email them, harrass them into supporting the Mother’s Act. Enough mother’s are gone, along with their children.

Info is here.

Get writing!

14 Responses to “Blog for the MOTHER’S ACT!”

  1. Netter October 24, 2007 at 11:09 am #

    I think the only reason I got treatment was because I asked for it. The psych MD I was referred to didn’t have an appointment for months until I told them I had PPD. Our former acting governor’s wife’s been doing a PSA for PPD. I’m going to write today.

  2. Netter October 24, 2007 at 11:11 am #

    Just read the piece and see that my Senators are already involved. I’ll still mention on my blog, though.

  3. Bon October 24, 2007 at 2:19 pm #

    yeh, here they went out their way – after Finn – to assure me that i didn’t have PPD, i was just temporarily psychotic with grief. not that they had any support groups or anything for that…and the meds were only for PPD, yep…but they assured me it was normal and that was just sooooo helpful. 🙂

    good to know, about Mother’s Act. thanks.

  4. Katherine Stone October 24, 2007 at 8:06 pm #

    Thank you so much for posting about the MOTHERS Act today. I hope you will continue to encourage your readers to call throughout the rest of the week, as I hear the Senate lines were pretty busy today. Every call counts. I thank you for your support.

  5. ann adams October 24, 2007 at 11:15 pm #

    Good post – better than mine. I didn’t have much time to do anything except a fast copy and paste.

  6. Heather (AmeriMama) October 25, 2007 at 10:36 am #

    I posted. I also sent my post as a letter to the editor of two local papers and called and left messages for both of my senators.

  7. Kelly O October 25, 2007 at 2:03 pm #

    I hear you, it’s a damn shame. When you hear about a mother who has gone off the deep end, you know the system failed her.

  8. cwmh October 28, 2007 at 10:29 pm #

    Thanks for your support of the MOTHERS Act. Too often postpartum depression is a problem that goes unnoticed, and most women with PPD never receive any type of treatment. PPD is a treatable illness, and it is essential that we continue to educate ourselves and others about this important issue.

    For more information on PPD, visit us at The MGH Center for Women’s Mental Health.

  9. april October 31, 2007 at 5:50 pm #

    Does it go away? How can you tell? I have ppd. first time blogging but who can answer this but someone who knows. I am getting treatment and I am getting better. Anxiety is gone and I sleep now. I just want me back completely. I fear it will come back and I think that is holding me back from moving on. I feel consumed by this. There is no support groups where I live.

  10. thordora October 31, 2007 at 6:57 pm #

    It goes away, but I’d be lying if I said it goes away completely. I will always carry a smidgen of guilt in my heart for how I acted the first year of my youngest daughter’s life. It’s not my fault but still-I feel it.

    You will come back. Everything changes so drastically, it’s hard to fully internalize all at once. It took me awhile to really come to terms with who I was as a mother-that is the hardest. You feel shitty towards your infant, AND you have no idea who you are supposed to be. Once I began figuring out what kind of mother I am, and ACCEPTING that, it got easier.

    Now granted, I have other mental health issues that are a problem. But PPD will go away, with treatment, work and time. Time heals. As does sleep.

  11. xuxppxxuxyyy December 27, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Deep Muck Big Rake » Leave a comment, win a prize: MOTHERS for PPD Act - October 24, 2007

    […] Spin Me I Pulsate […]

  2. Blog Week for the Melanie Blocker Stokes MOTHERS Act Kicks Off Today - August 23, 2011

    […] Birth-First Parent Blog, 5 Resolutions, Viva La Feminista, Chicago Moms Blog, The Gus Stop, Spin Me I Pulsate, Welcome to My Brain, Maternally Challenged, Earth Change, Postpartum Mental Illness Yahoo! Group, […]

  3. Today is Blog for the MOTHERS Act Day!! - August 23, 2011

    […] Spin Me I Pulsate […]

Leave a comment