Dear 12

14 Feb

 Your mother died a few months ago. You watched her die. You watched her flail blindly on her bed in the front room, naked, as her sister tried to hold her body on the bed. You watched your mother die that morning. You sat on those spiral stairs she had wanted so badly, and watched her leave.

Are you ok now? You’re not ok. A short trip to Nova Scotia to see relatives you barely know didn’t make you better, didn’t seem to make your father better. Things are quiet, too quiet. You don’t talk about it.

So I’m here, 18 years later, to talk to you about this.

It’s not your fault. You didn’t do anythink to cause this, and no, you couldn’t fix it. Your mother had breast cancer, and even a masectomy can’t always fix it. It reached her organs. I know you watched your mother die slowly, and then quickly. I can’t take that back for you, and I can’t make it any better. Nothing, but time, will make it any easier.

You won’t believe me, but there will come a day when you won’t want to cry every hour, where you won’t want to kill yourself. My advice? See the damn shrink, don’t play games with them, and take the drugs. What are you proving? That’s you’re strong? Brave? They know that honey, they do. You don’t have to prove this every second of everyday.

You’ll be diagnosed as ADD at first, but they’re wrong. It’s bipolar. Your instincts will be right, and you should ask the doctors about this. You aren’t weird because you read about this. Save yourself a few years of crap and pain, and ask the doctors.

Bryan is wrong for you, but at the same time, you’ll need what you find in Kitchener. You need time to just have fun. You’ll make some stupid decisions, and take far too many drugs. But you’ll grow, and find pieces of you buried under all the sadness and pain. Grab hold. These friends aren’t for life though, as much as they seem at the time. You have trouble holding on to friends. Try harder. You’ll miss having people to document your life with.

Bring a camera with you the time you drop acid with Mike and Dan. The sunrise you’ll see on the school top that morning will be like none you’ll see for a very long time. Be careful on the fence though-you like those pants.

Drop your expectations of university. It IS full of people only there for the degree, not the knowledge. Don’t get high and mighty and mad about it. Just deal with it. It won’t be what you expect. You’ll hate the profs. But stick with it. You’ll regret not having even your useless honors arts degree.

You’ll fall in love, hard, at 18. Your world will contract around you, and your heart will be light. Savour this. You’ve waited for so long, convinced that no one really loved you, and you’ll find someone who loves every bit of you. It will take him a few years to realize just how much you really mean, but it’s worth the wait. Great relationships don’t just happen.

You’ll have kids. Yes, you heard me right. You’ll have two girls, so feel relieved at that. They’ll be the strangest and best thing that’s ever happened to you. You’ll feel love again, your heart will work again for the first time since Mom dying. You’ll be happy, which you didn’t think was possible. You’ll have a life you never imagined, and you’ll love it.

Sure, you won’t be writing poetry alone in a garret smoking cheap cigarettes, but you’ll be happy and writing other things. But your writing will find a joy you thought you lost when that coffin when in the grave.

You will be happy again. I can’t stress that enough.

When you’re 14, don’t take all those pills. You don’t want to die. You just want someone to notice you, and take care of you. No one will. You’ll have to do it on your own anyway. You’re stronger than you think.

Your father loves you, he just doesn’t know what to do.You have to leave him for awhile. You can’t stop his drinking. Just try to help him, but don’t blame yourself. It’s not your fault. He’ll come around eventually.

Your biological family is not what you think. Be careful. You don’t want more pain. Don search for them until you’re older. 17 is too young. I know you want to know, but you look more like your father anyway, and he’s dead. Wait for a better time, when you’re older. You have a half sister, but you’ll never see her.

Don’t admit to anyone that when you were younger, you made your brother buy you Starship. People will laugh.

Ask a teacher about your period and what to use before you get it. Trust me-the embarressment you feel at asking is a LOT less that the embarassment you’ll feel if you leak everywhere. Again, just trust me. Your Dad won’t be much help either. Just like with other things, you’ll be alone with it. Get used to it.

Life isn’t as bad as it seems, but you’re right. It isn’t fair. Stop being so angry though. It won’t make anything better.

Stop and enjoy things sometimes. Life is so fleeting.

Buy more than one box of blondisima. Green skunk hair isn’t cool.

Tell Stace not to dye her hair blue for school pictures-the backdrop is the same color.

Buy your yearbooks. You’ll care later on.

Like yourself. You aren’t as ugly, or as fat, as you seem to think.

Enjoy yourself dear. It’s gone so fast.

28 Responses to “Dear 12”

  1. sweetsalty kate February 14, 2007 at 4:06 pm #

    Oh, if only. What a beautiful post.

  2. karriew February 14, 2007 at 4:55 pm #

    Wow……………….great writing.

    (I love me some Starship. Off to abuse YouTube.)

  3. karriew February 14, 2007 at 5:00 pm #

    🙂 We’d get byyyyyyyy…if only you believed in miracles baby….

  4. heidi February 14, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    I love you today so much. What a creative, tender, sensitive, & introspective place to write from.

  5. alimum February 14, 2007 at 5:32 pm #

    wow

  6. Mamma Loves February 14, 2007 at 7:22 pm #

    That is beautiful.

    If only we could write ourselves a letter from the future. I try to remember that on the days things seem too big.

    Thank you for sharing that!!

  7. Magdalena February 14, 2007 at 8:58 pm #

    I heart this post. Makes me want to do the same for myself. 🙂

  8. ann adams February 14, 2007 at 9:44 pm #

    I wish I could have written myself something like that.

  9. Oh, The Joys February 14, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    Wow. Karrie sent me here and I’m so glad she did.

  10. jkdufair February 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm #

    So sweet, Thor. I’m wiping the tears away again. This is one of the reasons I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife. If only we could go back and talk to ourselves or our lovers when we and they were younger. If only we could go back, period. I’m starting to look forward for the first time in a long time, but there’s still plenty of looking back.

  11. thordora February 15, 2007 at 9:11 am #

    thanks guys. 🙂 I’d been writing this in my head for the last week or so, and I’m sure there’s more to add.

    Somedays I wish I could go back and talk to myself-other days, I’m glad I made the mistakes I did make. Sometimes they lead to good things.

  12. thordora February 15, 2007 at 9:12 am #

    And it’s my goal to make Jason cry at least once a month. 😛

  13. liprap February 15, 2007 at 9:58 am #

    This is beautiful.

    Looking back is never easy, but somehow, you have made the struggle seem worthwhile.

  14. kate1976 February 15, 2007 at 11:19 am #

    There are so many things I wish I could say to my teenage self. Its not about regrets, just about the beauty to knowing how things play out and not missing out on things for stupid reasons. Your post really touched me.

  15. Abby February 15, 2007 at 11:27 am #

    Beautifully written. And who knew we had things in common? Wow. Not that anyone wants to have taking too many pills as a teenager or a father that drinks too much in common. But it helps to know you are not alone.

    Well said Thordora. (came over by way of Karrrie, btw., but am goign to add you to my links now. I can stalk you easier that way.)

  16. Kara February 15, 2007 at 11:37 am #

    what a beautiful post.

  17. Flo February 15, 2007 at 11:57 am #

    That amazing. So beautiful. Thank you.

  18. Jason Dufair February 15, 2007 at 1:30 pm #

    It’s working. I’m just borrowing your lost tears. You’ll get them back.

    And I think you should consider this one for The Zero Boss’ BFB this month.

    Your dad never remarried, right?

  19. Marcy February 15, 2007 at 3:26 pm #

    I wish I could write to my younger self, too. Maybe I’ll give it a try.

  20. bromac February 15, 2007 at 4:11 pm #

    And you feel like you are currently void of emotion? I disagree based on this post. It is so loving, towards yourself. And that is beautiful, pure, emotion.

  21. thordora February 15, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    My dad never remarried. he always said you couldn’t replace the love of your life.

    Sweet, but I wish he would have found some companionship.

    And thank you everyone-I thought this was just rambling, and wasn’t particularily good. I’m glad I touched people.

    It’s weird bromac. I can feel the emotions, but it’s like touching a soft wool sweater-you can feel it, but you can never really “be” the sweater, if that makes any sense at all.

  22. Marcy February 15, 2007 at 7:11 pm #

    Makes sense to me — I’ve often felt like an observer on the outer edge of myself, uncentered, ungrounded, disconnected.

  23. Kevin Charnas February 15, 2007 at 10:40 pm #

    If only…

  24. katsplace February 16, 2007 at 11:34 am #

    Beautiful and touching.

  25. Karen February 17, 2007 at 4:26 pm #

    How I wish we could all get the chance to leave a letter for our younger selves. However having said that the choices we made make us who we are today.

  26. bine March 2, 2007 at 9:19 am #

    now you got my crying.
    big, slow tears, no idea where that came from.
    thank you for sharing this, i think i might do it for myself just in private, to keep it somewhere in my desk and read it now and again.
    you sure seem to have had some hard times, but i think they contributed to your turning out a wonderful person.

  27. thordora March 2, 2007 at 10:55 am #

    I am pretty wonderful. 🙂

    It’s funny, because I don’t know if I’d trade it all-if I could go back and fix stuff, I don’t know if I would.

    But yeah, if only….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Because I said so « One Weird Mother - February 14, 2007

    […] Go read it. […]

Leave a comment