Pray for me.

22 Jan

Yes, I know. I’m being facetious. I don’t pray. Ever.

HOWEVER. As we have just agreed to have a sleepover with 2 count them TWO other 5 year olds, a  boy and a girl, my brain is suddenly wracking itself with anxiety and worry at how will they sleep? Will they eat what I give them? Will they watch a movie before bed or destroy my basement?

And most importantly, do I have enough vodka to get me through the evening?

I wasn’t allowed to have people over as a child. Hell, I was barely allowed to play with other kids, my mother’s upper class pretensions or paranoia’s were so strong. I always had to go to other people’s houses, and even that wasn’t until I was much older than 5.

I’m lost, and fighting my own urge, implanted by my mother, to not have these kids in my house. But I know it’s stupid and wrong and likely driven by some things I have a hunch happened to my mother. So I will suck it up, make awesome something for dinner and let them watch something vaguely illicit like Iron man, shush them to sleep around 11 and make waffles in the morning.

That being said-all of you-you who hold sleepovers, ye who have had sleepovers as a child-any tips? Aside from drinking my face off?

19 Responses to “Pray for me.”

  1. Sol January 22, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    I wasn’t allowed to have other kids over, nor go to their houses, since I wet the bed till I was like 14. Anyway, I cook something delicious and offer a super sugary treat after dinner so they get a huge sugar high, followed by a lovely low that will put them all to ZzZzZZZzz.

  2. de January 22, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    I was anxious when we had out niece sleep over (she is 9, my daughter 6) because we have heard horror stories of her staying up all night at home and others’ houses, but we said goodnight around nine and never heard another sound after 9:15. They really exceeded our dreams.

    I would avoid anything possibly scary at night time. How about an animal movie?

  3. nessa January 22, 2009 at 10:24 am #

    Ahh, yes, the sleepovers. They aren’t so bad really. First, realize that kids eat A LOT when they are at someone else’s house. Have lots of snacks! Make-your-own pizzas are good. Second, if the girls have any toys that they guard, put them away before the friends show up.

    Active games are fun, like twister and charades if you feel like something more organized is in order or if you need to settle them down after a game of furniture tag. I would save the movie till they have burned some energy or they won’t sit through it.

    Have fun! Hope you can take a nap the next day! 😛

  4. bromac January 22, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    I agree with de on the movie.

    I think it sounds exciting. Remember, very few kids are judgemental, so you will be fine. They’re just interested in hanging out with Viv. That being said, I haven’t had a sleepover with little ones yet and the idea scares the bejeesus out of me, too.

    I was allowed to sleep over with friends when I was a child. I only recall mentioning details to my parents twice. Once was when I had to go home and ask them what pot was. Oops, never allowed there again. The second was when I was so horrified b/c I awoke to a mouse on me in the middle of the night and, when asked to make a baby bottle, walked into the main room, turned on the light, and the walls were crawling with roaches. Never stayed there again either.

    I would go with something like hot dogs and mac n cheese, or I would probably order pizza and a treat.

    Have fun!!!

  5. Tisha January 22, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    I am from South Africa and sexual abuse/rape is such a HUGE thing over here. I have 2 little girls whom have never slept over at a friends house. Right now I use the excuse of them being too young (5&9). Not sure what I am going to say as they get older.

    I do however thing that a really cool activity especially for girls is karaoke. We have the PS Singstar and they absolutely love it!

  6. onthecurb January 22, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    Hide your shit. I attended a few sleepovers as a kid (thankfully haven’t had any yet with my kids). My friends loved to sneak around and reveal the “secret” treasures hidden in their parents’ bedroom. One friend showed me her mom’s secret box of balloons that were individually wrapped and smelled funny. At another friend’s house, we had a grand ole time playing with her mother’s “shaky wand.”

    Good luck.

  7. thordora January 22, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    My father never let me have female friend stay over until I was 16 or so because there was a lot of sexual abuse in the community and he was completely paranoid. I get it, but it sucked.

  8. patois January 22, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    We’ve had sleepovers for loads of years. Most of the kids have been well behaved, like my own kids are (in other people’s homes). The ones who’ve been a bit wilder learned to obey pretty darn quickly when over at our house. They’re young. They’ll say they’re going to stay up until 10, but that’ll never happen. Enjoy it. Really.

  9. March January 22, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    how exciting!
    I’d say just set your expectations right: they’ll eat a lot, make some noise, and stay up later than you’d first think.

    I had kids over several times in Japan, Morgan was 3-4 but her friends were 4-5-6 (so their parents could have date night). go with a fulproof meal like nuggets or something and brownies are always a big hit. waffles sound great for breakfast!

    I just would not show a movie without the ok of the parents, some people are weird when it comes to movies and kids. we always stayed with something from pixar, but of course Morgan was younger…

    I’ll be sending good vibes your way so you all have a great time…

    you do know that your stock with Vivian will go up, right?

  10. Hannah January 22, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    I second the comments on the movies. You just don’t know how sensitive the individual kids might be, or what their parents’ rules are. Stick with something G rated.

    Aside: At 12 I went to sleepover and the girl’s parents rented Rosemary’s Baby and The Exorcist. I slept with the light on for weeks.

    I agree with the idea of active games, too.

    Oh, and if Viv or Ros have toys that are particularly special to them, hide them away before the sleepover happens.

    I started going to sleepovers when I was seven, although boys were never allowed, ever. The best ones were when we got to play with makeup (something my mother never wore) and stay up to an illicit hour (age-appropriate).

    Good luck!

  11. thordora January 22, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    In this case we know the family and I don’t believe I need to be anymore careful with the movies than usual, but I do plan to ask when pick them up.

    The pizza idea is great. I think I’ll part with my pizza stuff for them. 🙂

  12. Caitlin January 22, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    I’ve had a couple of sleep overs since Paul has been a toddler. When our friends with older kids are expecting a new baby, they usually drop the older kids off here when they go to the hospital for the delivery. I usually take the kids to a small park that is within walking distance, before we come home to do homemade pizza. If the weather isn’t too bad, then we do s’mores in the backyard for dessert. Otherwise, it’s ice cream sundaes. Then it’s movie time.

    Then everybody gets ready for bed while I set up the sleeping area in the living room. They usually sit up and talk for a bit, and are usually asleep on their own by midnight, usually much earlier. The little kids always love doing a “jungle breakfast”, where you hide the single serving boxes of cereal and they have to find them.

    The kids usually tend to keep busy making up their own games, so aside from food and movies, there’s not really much to plan. Most of the sleepovers I went to as a child were out in the country, so I remember a lot of running around playing hide and seek on farms and not being called in until supper. I’m sure that the girls will have a lot of fun at your sleep over :).

  13. EJ January 22, 2009 at 1:58 pm #

    No drinking.

  14. nylonthread January 22, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    My Rosie has been at several sleepovers, although nobody has taken up our offer of a sleepover here (is it because of my husband’s ridiculous-in-your-face online monikers of Monkeyrotica or RectalHorror? or our fully stocked bar in the basement? our bizarre film collection? we’ll never know). I went to plenty of sleepovers or hosted them growing up. Pizza making sounds great! When I was a kid, my parents would always pick up a dozen donuts as a treat for our guests (I rarely had them otherwise). As I tweeted to you earlier, a parent gave me her 20/20 advice on a group sleepover: check for major dietary restrictions and fear triggers ahead of time; make sure one parent stays up later and gets to sleep in and the other parent takes care of breakfast, otherwise you’ll be exhausted! Have fun!!

  15. Gabriel... January 22, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    Drink your face off. Start with whatever you feel more comfortable with, but have a supply of mouthwash tucked away for later on.

  16. crazymumma January 22, 2009 at 10:48 pm #

    We are the home of sleepovers. Don’t get tooooo loaded prior to them being alseep. i recommend a gentler movie……a snack and a fake bedtime of ….10 (make it 9 real time).

    Then drink your face off.

  17. Gabriel... January 22, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    I’d go with se7en, The Blair Witch Project and maybe The Devil’s Rejects… but definitely, at some point, you should be lurching around the room wildly waving a half empty bottle of Listerine and yelling something about vaginal itching.

  18. CharmingBitch January 23, 2009 at 7:10 am #

    Although with some friends as I got older my parents were ”more okay” with my sleeping over, they really preferred to have sleepovers at our house. I have continued in the same pattern because the girls (6 and 14) have someone sleeping over almost every weekend; little brothers always welcome because they can play with the boys (3 and 5). I admit I am a sucker for a house-full of kids keeping each other company and generally out of my hair, ha!! They really can entertain themselves for the most part, especially if they already play together regularly. Have snacks and something generally kid agreeable for dinner (chicken nuggets, pizza etc) and a snack with a movie (preferably close to bedtime with the lights dim to encourage heavy eyes to clooooose 🙂

    They will have a great time, worry not. Kids are easy to please and not likely to be overly-critical.

  19. bromac January 23, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Did you catch a bit of Thor’s facetiousness today Gabe

Leave a Reply

