“Yes, there is a rumor that a young pale beam of a crescent moon touched the edge of a vanishing autumn cloud, and there the smile was first born in the dream of a dew-washed morning.”

28 Sep

Broken, lopsided Backyardigans tent.

Water Table

Mangled soccer nets

Chair. Tricycle. Slide.

A storm is coming. The prior air whips around me, moist and warm, potent. The simple last crumbs of summer, advancing before wind and rain and possible destruction. But likely, nothing. We prepare for potential.

I hold my head to the sky, watching the reddened leaves twirl down around me, brushing me carefully as the birds seem to have lost their voices in knowing.

I finish and escape back to the house, leaving the slithering humidity to itself.

***********************************

The earth seems right in fall, pieces snapped into place. I’ve always had this theory that we love best the season we were born into, the first we knew, the first air that kissed us. That we revert back into the arms we loved best. I can never wait for the leaves to crumble into color before they fall, for that shivering wind that whispers of winter, with the sadness of late summer. I can spend days in the woods behind the house, fingers entwined, eyes full up on lovely. My hands twitch with the memories of all the leaves I ever brought home, stunned by their beauty ad given to parents who never once denied it.

Somehow it just feels right, my body relaxing into it, into a season of decline and sleep.

I remember, I hold on to that day, after school, falling from the rock wall by the church into decaying piles of maple leaves, three of us laughing in an hour that lasted for days.  I remember older, a day in a graveyard, stoned on acid, a conversation recorded about unicorns and the enveloping of the leaves I lay in most of that day, it’s earthiness holding me still as I laughed and talked of flying. I cling to the warmth of the indian summer after Vivian was born, the hope in that orange light and gentle wind, the minutes I’d stop and just breathe in the day.

In Spring, we dream. In Summer we dance. Through Fall we tell stories before Winter brings us to slumber. But we remember.

6 Responses to ““Yes, there is a rumor that a young pale beam of a crescent moon touched the edge of a vanishing autumn cloud, and there the smile was first born in the dream of a dew-washed morning.””

  1. Hannah September 28, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    I also cleaned up an alarming amount of toys from the back yard this morning. It is windy but not egregiously so, and the leaves blowing around make me want to skip outside and spin in circles with my arms out, like I used to do when I was wee.

    Isaac spent an hour this morning “running with Mr. Wind” on the deck. You can’t help but smile when you see something like that.

  2. March September 28, 2008 at 11:33 pm #

    I too am in love with fall, though was born in summer.
    I love the chilly wheather that is not too cold for a good walk, the colors, the clothes, and an extra good reason to sip coffee that does not get cold too fast while outside.
    we’ve been having rain this week, so for us fall started rather wet.

  3. Shana September 29, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    Thordora, though I was born in spring (which seems a “logical” favorite season), my favorite season is also fall.

    It just feels so clean. The coolness after all the heat. The crispness of the air. The smell of dry leaves being crunched under feet.

  4. Marcy September 29, 2008 at 10:00 am #

    Interesting — I have sort of claimed March, my birth month — its juxtaposition of storm and calm fits me.

  5. Kyle September 29, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m looking forward to fall. We had the annual Feast of the Hunter’s Moon last weekend and it was very summery. I like it much better when I have a jacket on and a cup of warm cider in my hand vs. being in shorts and shades drinking iced tea. Thanks for reminding me fall is coming.

  6. crunchy September 29, 2008 at 7:46 pm #

    yep..Caity and I cleaned up the front and back patio…watching the leaves continue to brown and land on it..more for us to gather.
    Husband and kids plan Halloween above all else now..and I love the warm days with the taste of what is to come

Leave a Reply

