Buy Nothing Month: Day One

1 Jun

Yeah, I suck. Spent 3.00 in vending machines at work. Because as tasty as Kamut puffs and yoghurt and granola can be? THEY AREN”T CHOCOLATE.

However, since I’m down to 2.50 in my wallet, this problem will resolve itself soon.

Spent the day determining if new headphones are a want or a need. Considering I will start walking at least one way to work each day again soon, they are a need, but not a pressing one. They can wait until payday.

Ran out of popcorn. This is a snack need, which, along with the corn I forgot to get for my enchiladas (damn peas! You fooled me!) will be grabbed tomorrow. Dinner is a need.

Lesson today? Leave the damn cash at home. Make it a pain in the ass to spend.

What sucked today? Nothing aside from freaking gale force winds….and vending machines with tasty Fritos.

10 Responses to “Buy Nothing Month: Day One”

  1. Kim June 1, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    You inspired me! Hubby and I are doing this too. More out of necessity than anything, but we’re going to try and do it for 2 months and see how much we saved. It’s going to be hard to pass up the thrift store for 2 months and no yummy wine, but wouldn’t it be cool to actually HAVE a savings account? With MONEY in it? Keep up the good work. We’re rooting for you!

    • thordora June 2, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

      I know right? The idea of having a bank account that’s in the green all month long is totally awesome…(and this desire makes me feel super old btw..) I’m thinking of taking it longer as well, but we’ll see about that.

      And those damn thrift stores are EVIL.

  2. Natalie June 2, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Pretty good considering that your only “fail” (which is really not a fail, in general, but just a fail for the month-long goal) was less than 5$…that’s great!

    The want/need internal dialogue is a hard, but necessary evil.

    • thordora June 2, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      I was even better today. Had to hit the mall (it’s Moncton after all) but avoided temptation. Go me! And you know, having the dialogue in my head is helping…let’s see how long it will keep! 😀

  3. Cynthia June 2, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    What kind of earphones do you like? I think I have at least one extra pair hanging around – might be able to hook you up 🙂

    • thordora June 2, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      I am an ear bud person, and slightly peeved that my “good investment” 50.00 Denon’s crapped out-they make them with plastic that can’t deal with anything hovering around the freezing mark. Very annoyed. I do have books for you, so we should plan to hang out again…assuming I can find where Viv PUT all the books. :p

      • Cynthia June 2, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

        Coolio. I’ll poke around tomorrow and try to find them.

  4. Lanna June 2, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I’m trying to do this too, but probably should instead set low dollar amounts, say $10/week limit, than try to be spend-free. So far, I bought coffee and a muffin 2X this week, so $7 down. I’m not counting previously budgeted amounts for groceries and fuel, though it’d be nice to keep them at a minimum.

  5. Marcy June 2, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Hey now, Fritos aren’t chocolate either.

    You could theoretically save money by buying one of those giant bags of Dove squares or the like, but if you’re like me you wouldn’t do so well at allowing one each day. Keeping them in the freezer only helped a little. I was surprisingly often willing to wait the few minutes for another one.

    They ought to make a chocolate dispenser that locks — something with a computer in it that only doles out one square each day.

    But that would cost money, too.

  6. Breathalyzer Vending November 30, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    GIVE ME SOME GOOD EAR PHONES:)

Leave a Reply

