No, I’m not stranded, or mugged, or asking for money.

25 May

My thordora gmail account was hacked last night, suspiciously soon after linking it, stupidly, to my youtube account. (The ONE TIME i don’t pay attention to this crap and look what happens…)

So yes. I’ve been hacked. My account is, seemingly, back in my safe and loving hands, and I am not stranded anywhere, least of all London. Nor would I ask the 479 contacts in my gmail for money, considering I wouldn’t know 465 of them if they were the ones who mugged me in the street.

So I know, and it’s been fixed. And all my passwords have been changed, as well as unlinking all possible accounts. I’ve never had anything like this happen, and it was oddly disturbing. And quite freaky.

So-change your passwords to something hopelessly obscure, don’t repeat them on various sites (although I didn’t do that with this one) and be damn sure to NOT link accounts together.

Gah. What a bloody mess.

4 Responses to “No, I’m not stranded, or mugged, or asking for money.”

  1. Carin May 25, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    Glad it’s all fixed up. I had another friend with a yahoo account get hacked too. These hackers are busy little bees.

  2. Jennifer May 25, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    What a PITA.

    I’m fucking with the guy currently. He made a new e-mail address in case you feel frisky!

  3. Jenny, Bloggess May 25, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Ha! I came to check on you after getting the email. Yay for not getting mugged. Boo for getting hacked.

  4. Suebob May 30, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    I almost replied “Why yes, Dora – Charles is in London doing some work with Interpol. He would be happy to drop $2500 by.” But then I realized the email would come to you and not the scum who tried this scam…

Leave a Reply

