There’s one thing that I’d like to know-did you ever believe the lies that you told-did you own the fool’s gold that you gave me?

11 May

Listen. Cry. I know I have.

(The lyrics if you can’t listen)

Fool’s Gold-Lhasa De Sela

You told me that you’d stay with me
And shelter me forever
That was a hard promise to keep
I can’t blame you for the bad weather

After all that has been said and done
I won’t ask you where you’re going
Don’t keep in touch, I don’t miss you much
Except sometimes early in the morning

Now use your silver tongue once more
There’s one thing that I’d like to know
Did you ever believe the lies that you told?
Did you earn the fool’s gold that you gave me?

I forgive you wanting to be free
I realize you long to wander
And I sympathize with your roving eyes
I just can’t forgive your bad manners

Now use your silver tongue once more
There’s one thing that I’d like to know
Did you ever believe the lies that you told?
Did you earn the fool’s gold that you gave me?
Did you ever believe the lies that you told?
Did you earn the fool’s gold that you gave me?

7 Responses to “There’s one thing that I’d like to know-did you ever believe the lies that you told-did you own the fool’s gold that you gave me?”

  1. Titanium May 11, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Lhasa is a goddess. I was listening to her La Llorona today… there’s nothing like the pure anger and grief she sings so eloquently.

    • thordora May 11, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

      it’s my entire marriage, in one song. I’m bawling, but it’s a good bawling. Wish I had of known of her BEFORE she died. 😦

  2. sweetsalty kate May 11, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    She is exquisite. I felt the same when I found her, about two weeks after she died… it was crushing to realize that she was gone.

    • thordora May 11, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      I think that makes the crying worse.

  3. raino May 12, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    wow. this is pretty close to all i can say about this. how come i’ve never come across this awesomeness before now?! thanks for sharing, that was beautiful.

  4. tysdaddy May 12, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Such honest lyrics. Incredible. Thank you . . .

  5. thordora May 12, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Sadly she died of breat cancer this past Jan….I cannot stop listening to it…

Leave a Reply

