Weekend

8 Mar

Originally uploaded by thordora

Yesterday, I woke up in someone’s arms, to a purring cat, and sun streaming through a window. We drove out of town for lunch, and just kept driving, down the Fundy coast, to Cape Enrage, through the countryside.

He showed me geocaches, places where they once built mighty ships. He held my hand, kept a soft grip on my leg while we drove. We watched the tide roll in on a beach, the water swirling cold around our feet as the wind whipped my hair like a dervish. I grinned for it all.

He told me to wait for the Ha Ha Cemetery, and stopped for me, while I, forgetting of my camera, used my phone to take dubious pictures. I stared around me, nearly 9 years in this place, and I had never seen so many of it’s wonders, until a man I’ve only known for a few weeks said “It’s a capital day-let’s go for a drive” and smiled at my joy in the sunlight.

Maybe it won’t last. Maybe the silly grins will fall off, the surprise that we found each other, and equally enjoy each other will fade. But maybe it won’t. And even if it does, I’ll have the sun glancing off my hair and eyes on a vivid Sunday afternoon in my mind forever.

11 Responses to “Weekend”

  1. natalie March 8, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    what a wonderfully warm day…:*) you deserve all of it…so glad.

  2. Maria March 8, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Jesus, the happiness just seeping out of every word. Disgusting.

    I’m so happy for you! πŸ™‚

  3. sweetsalty kate March 8, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Cape Enrage could be a two-bit diner and a speed bump and I’d still love it, just for its name.

    Happy for you no matter what happens, because days like that are so restorative.
    xo

    • thordora March 8, 2010 at 9:10 am #

      I did NOT however, like the roads there. God damn…and his car did NOT have a holy shit handle, so I spent the time up and down the crazy roads with my nails dug into his arm…which likely would have just made it worse had things gone wrong….

      Pretty, but terrifying in some places. πŸ˜›

  4. Hannah March 8, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Yesterday was a day made for just driving, wasn’t it?

    This post made me smile.

  5. misspudding March 8, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Ooooh, wonderful day! I love roadtripping when the weather is nice.

    Enjoy it! Live in the moment!

  6. Sheri March 8, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Sounds lovely.

  7. magpie March 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Your happiness is oozing through my computer screen.

  8. anatares March 11, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I used to read your blog daily, and for whatever reason stopped. I stumbled across it again today, and I felt as if I had found an old friend. I’m so glad to hear you’re still writing.

    I used to have a blog called Dance Among The Stars, and went by dragon, if that helps. πŸ™‚

  9. Jason Dufair March 12, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I’m glad you have found a raisin in the porridge, Thor. Glad you can savor it for what it is. You deserve happiness. And peace.

  10. contoveros March 15, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    Enjoy the roses while ye may . . .

    Don’t mis-use that sunlight. Remember the HaHA Cemetery all the days of your life. And just go with the flow of a new friend for as long as the kite set sails and flies.

    Up, up, but sometimes down and down. With skillful meditation you might help it along by giving it more and more line until you have none left and its just you, the kite and the heavens above.

    O Lovers. Never, never abandon love. — Sufi

    michael j
    Conshohocken, PA USA

Leave a Reply

