WWMD? Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts

30 Nov

Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts, don’t put up with
people who are reckless with yours.

I imagine the first boy who breaks her heart, and I crack my knuckles in preparation. I never had my heartbroken by a boy until now, but with this new understanding, I fully understand father’s who wait up with an axe in their hand and a Bud Light on the table beside them.

Look at her. She’s magnificent. She is a creature conceived in love, long ago yes, but very much in love, and she grew beneath the weak pulse of my heart. She grabbed my finger and my tears and my heartstrings sitting in my arms, once my heart let her. I promised her, those first days, that nothing would harm her, nothing would touch her heart, not in the ways they touched mine. No one would would be reckless and teach her how not to trust, not to love.

The events of this month remind me that I cannot protect her from reckless hearts. The reckless hearts aren’t always ones you can change or get near, or matter to. Sure, she’ll be fine. Maybe I’ll just need to put her in therapy later. Maybe we can still be some sort of fractured family for her, at least for awhile.

But I won’t be able to put her world back for her once it dissolves, once what was once safe because unsteady and fast.

We’re reckless, with these our daughters. We play loose with Vivian, who understands things she shouldn’t, who already seems to live with some terrible sadness tucked behind her eyes. It is she who will suffer. I will hurt, my heart will be battered, has been battered, but ultimately, I will find my happiness somewhere eventually. You can replace a lover, a friend,  husband.

You can’t replace a father. You can’t replace your parents, loving each other, even if they’re considerate and warm and friendly when they see each other. She will only see the recklessness with which her parents cast each other off, respect lost some random morning, love slowly dwindling down a void they couldn’t get it back from. You can’t replace that security.

We are reckless. Yet I have to teach her not to be reckless, with herself, or with others.

I don’t know how either.

(Quadelle had a fab idea to do a series of posts based on phrases from Mary Schmich’s commencement address . [You may remember it better as a “song” by Baz Luhrmann] I thought it was a great idea, so, I stole it. Or copied. Whatever. Imitation is the soul of wit. Or brevity. Or both. :P )

7 Responses to “WWMD? Don’t be reckless with other people’s hearts”

  1. Marcy November 30, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    She’s so beautiful.

    You can help her grieve in healthy ways and learn how to live around, in, with, over, and under this wound and the ones to come.

  2. Kelly November 30, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    She is lucky. I see so many parents that are greedy. I had a friend that had an affair. She left her family for the other man. When I asked her about the children she would say, oh it is better for the children. I’m a better mother. I’m happier now. I never doubted that she was happier, but it always bothered me a little that she would not ever admit that her children might hurt from her actions. Not saying she should not have done it, just should have acknowledged it for what it was. I know your situation is far different but still you amaze me with how reflective you are. Yes, divorce will affect her. But, it will not wreck her. It will not because she has a mother than can think and feel and write something like this.

  3. et November 30, 2009 at 10:48 pm #

    Your daughter’s lives and hearts are theirs to live and break as they live and learn. Do not be too quick to weld ax or knuckles in her “defense”. She may neither need nor want you there, then.

    You are only wholly responsible for your life.

  4. Bon December 1, 2009 at 10:07 pm #

    i caught my breath reading this. because i have been coming to terms, in my own small ways, lately, with the ways we cannot protect their hearts…from the recklessness of others, and someday, from themselves.

    you are in a special situation on that front right now, for sure. with Viv, and with Ros too…because what she does not process now she still will have to, someday. and this loss will matter. but it need not break either of them, their little hearts. perhaps in the long run, it will open them, be a space where they can learn that things need not be perfect to still be love.

  5. Samantha January 29, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    I really enjoyed that post.I will be reading a lot more of this blog.But

  6. zynga facebook March 20, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    i wouldn’t have figured this was useful a few years back but yet it’s amusing exactly how time switches the means by which you experience individual concepts, thanks regarding the blog post it is pleasing to look over something intelligent now and then in lieu of the common trash mascarading as a blog on the net, i’m going to enjoy a few hands of zynga poker, regards

  7. Marcy March 20, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    that be a spammer, above ye.

Leave a Reply

