Vivian, July

22 Jul

She’s so almost….

DSCF1378

 

She spins and I catch a glimpse of tomorrow, of ten years from now. Of last Thursday, 2 years ago.  Depending on how the sun whispers in her eyes, I can see each and every one of her, smiling.

DSCF1377

 

She turns 6 soon, my little honey child, and a child she will be. No longer a baby, a toddler, a preschooler. Just a kid. Just a glorious, wonderful, little kid with a head like a stubborn ox on her shoulders, full of curiosity, wonder and love.

She is so much herself-right now, at peace with herself, yet so human, so normal too, none of the worries I remember having, her biggest tearjerker is her friend being mean and telling her she “just isn’t cool” in a moment of pique.

DSCF1245

 

She’s an explorer, an artist and a linguist. She mouths off to her mother in all the appropriate ways, reminds me that I’m not so smart, and only getting older.

DSCF1240

She brings me magic.

Someday the mess will be gone. My floors will stay clean, the food will never run out, and the walls won’t be sticky.

I’ll miss it though.

DSCF1237

11 Responses to “Vivian, July”

  1. de July 22, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    Beautiful, both of you, mother & daughter.

    I love the shot of the half-eaten apple.

    • thordora July 26, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

      I love that shot as well. I’m pleased how it turned out.

  2. kelly July 23, 2009 at 8:21 am #

    This was lovely.

    At 2, my daughter is so stubborn, and smart, and fearless. She is so confident in her own little person. The other day, I watched her and just whispered to the universe, please, please, let her carry this sense of self into the world, even at 9 and 13 and 22. Let it only grow.

    • thordora July 26, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

      I remember staring at Vivian in her crib at 3 months or so, and she was SOOOOOO happy. All I asked the universe is that she remain that happy with life, forever. No matter what she does, let her stay happy and joyful.

  3. March July 23, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    love the pictures!
    you can almost touch her through them.
    they are gorgeous sights that reflect the beauty in her.

    this is one of those posts that you should print for her to read later on in life… maybe when she’s a teen that thinks the world is out to get her. the love that oozes out of each word is so moving that it’s impossible not to be touched.

    • thordora July 26, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks March! I do want to print out “their” posts for later, maybe when I finally shutter this old beast…I hope the world never touches her like that, but I know it will. It does for us all.

  4. slouching mom July 23, 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    oh, sniff. beautiful.

    and i understand.

  5. Hannah Johnson July 24, 2009 at 12:48 am #

    Hello,
    This is Hannah from the We Feel Fine project.
    We have been trying to get back in touch with you about the book, but have had no luck.

    We sent you a few emails and never got a response.
    I was concerned they weren’t getting through so thought i would try you here.

    If you and your family would still like to participate please let me know asap.
    You can reach me at hannah@wefeelfine.org

    Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.

    Best,
    Hannah

  6. maggie may July 25, 2009 at 1:32 am #

    My Lola is seven- my first girl, and watching her grow up is amazing in a different way than with the boys, not better, but different.

    • thordora July 26, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

      It’s been so fun-and with her having a close friend that’s a boy and always at our house, we’ve been able to “raise” him vicariously to a degree. So different, yet so not…

Leave a Reply

