Venus was her name

30 Apr

When I was a little girl, my mother worked part time in a ratty little flower shop behind the house. When she wasn’t busy daring me to touch the dead bodies when we delivered flowers for funerals, she was trying to convince me to stick my fingers in the mouths of Venus Fly Traps. And not to mention the time she gave me a Venus Fly Trap to give my grade 4 teacher. She said she thought it would be a “neat” gift-frankly, I think it was a little passive aggressive fuck you to a teacher she didn’t much like.

Either way.

Β 

dscf0620

10 Responses to “Venus was her name”

  1. Shana April 30, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    “Passive-aggressive”? No, I would just say that it’s clever. πŸ™‚ Good on your mom.

  2. Hannah April 30, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    Feed me, Seymour!

    It’s awesome. You like?

  3. dayatthebeach April 30, 2009 at 11:18 pm #

    THAT, is AWESOME. Very nice.

  4. bromac May 1, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    Awesome! I’m so jealous, you get new tats all the time. I haven’t had a new one in 3 years. Poor me, huh. 😦

  5. jen May 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    ok, now that is fucking awesome.

  6. Gwen May 1, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    And now we know where you get your macabre sense of humor. πŸ™‚

  7. ewww May 1, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    Ewww…roar! I guessing the rest of your body looks like that! 😦

  8. patois May 3, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    I’m such a chicken-shit. Oh, I’d touch a dead body. Or put a finger in a Venus fly-trap. But get a tat? Yeah, I’m a chicken-shit.

  9. Bon May 3, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    oh man, i missed this totally! dude. can i – following Hannah’s comment above – call it Audrey?

  10. Wire Shelving : October 28, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    i think most flower shops these days use plant food to extend the life of cut flowers,–

Leave a Reply

