I wanna be a Vivian.

2 Apr

Last night Vivian drew a picture of herself giving someone a tattoo, and wrote that she wanted to be a tattoo artist when she grew up, so my husband took her with him while he got some.

When I got there and wanted to take her to get some Pocky, she didn’t want to leave. She just wanted to watch she said.

Tonight, after finding an interesting book about dinosaurs and learning about the first real finds in the Gobi desert, she said no, I want to be a teacher. Or a paleontologist. I think.

I love the malleability of this age.

I whispered to her that I wanted to be a midwife, somehow, someday, when I grew up, and she looked at me strangely, wondering what that was. I explained that midwives help women figure out how to have their babies, and keep them healthy during their pregnancies.

She looked at me like I had two heads.

Walking, she bobbed and dawdled and talked to the birds, shouting COO COO!! across the street at some disturbed looking pigeons. Her hair swung from side to side as she exuded everything that just plain old fantastic about being 5 and a half. The dirt marks ran up the backs of her black tights, and I smiled, knowing that a clean kid is never one who’s having fun.

This is all countered by the fact that lately she has dreams or…something that leave her crying and screaming for at least an hour-unwilling for whatever reason to talk about it. Maybe it’s the drugs she’s on for a nasty ear infection, maybe it’s growing up, maybe she’s nuts like her mother….

I don’t have an answer for any of it. But she can spot a velociraptor at 20 paces, and that matters.

11 Responses to “I wanna be a Vivian.”

  1. slouching mom April 2, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    i love this post. i love five-year-olds and the parents who appreciate them.

  2. sweetsalty kate April 3, 2009 at 12:20 am #

    This was so sweet.. I loved it.

  3. Hannah April 3, 2009 at 7:03 am #

    I loved it too.

    That dinosaur-obsession stage? I’m excited for it. I love watching wee kidlets who can’t say “fork” reliably somehow spitting out words like “hipsolodon” clearly.

  4. Jennifer April 3, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    When Morgan was 3.5, we took her and her sister to the R.O.M. The dinosaur exhibit was closed because they were uglifying the building (have you SEEN what they did to the building??). She walked into the activity room, and right inside the door was a huge triceratops skull, she identified it, and all the mothers glared at me with daggers in their eyes.

    Morgan has been long obsessed with dinosaurs and digging up things. She occasionally ventures into the “I want to be a singer/artist stage”, but usually gets back to wanting to be an archeologist. I tell her about architects when she talks about being an artist. She has a 2nd cousin who is one.

    I still keep waiting for the fascination to fade.

  5. bromac April 3, 2009 at 9:19 am #

    That’s so awesome. I can’t wait for the “I wanna be” stage. They have the world at their hands and theit innocence is inrpiring.

  6. theclevermom April 3, 2009 at 10:00 am #

    My son, who will be 6 in a few days, informed me last week that he is going to stay home and hang with his kids, just like me. When I pointed out that I work, too, just not the kind of work where I have to go to an office every day (I’m a doula, financial coach, writer and childbirth educator), he said, “Oh, yeah, I’m gonna be a doula , too.”

    What a sweetheart.

    Other professions he will dabble in: scientist-detective, paleologist (I’m a paleobotanist when we go for walks), naturalist, wizard, teacher, rock star…

  7. Cynthia Page April 3, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Cute 🙂

    Lauren says she’s going to be a veterinarian who plays soccer, guitar and dances. Also, she will buy a blue house on our street and come over every day and bring me coffee.

    There have been a lot of fears and nightmares here as well lately. She worries a lot. I hope it is temporary.

  8. thordora April 3, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    awww, thanks all. Took all night to get just this down because of the screaming.

    I think it’s the antibiotics, as she’s fine the rest of the day. Although, one of her best friends-his mother just went into the hospital and no one knows why. I’ve asked her if it’s that, and she says no, but I wonder….

    She’s fucking awesome my girl. I love her to bits.

  9. Bon April 3, 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    when O is on antibiotics, he has what i think are night terrors…he’s howling, but it’s almost a trance, it’s not psychological but physical in origin. at first i thought he was having acid flashbacks on antibiotics but further reading led me to suspect it’s just this weird sleep glitch where his brain is out but his body is still kicking. he remembers nothing in the morning.

    of course, he’s not five. which sounds like an amazing age. i think i need to get me some dinosaur books.

  10. thordora April 3, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    I believe we have every single one ever made if you’re ever in town. 😛

  11. Eden April 3, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Zoe wants to be a vet, a teacher and a bus driver.

Leave a Reply

