Tuesday

24 Mar

Having correctly identified the lat few days as period induced insanity, today wasn’t too bad. (And as an aside, why can’t someone DO something about PMS in bipolar women? Seriously. It sucks to suddenly be suicidal on and off for a day or two. And then be PERFECTLY fine.)

On one hand, it is nice coming home and only thinking randomly about work, instead of worrying I’ll get a call that someone needs something rightthissecond! or that I’ve forgotten some little task or that I need to spend 3 hours of my time on a powerpoint presentation. But, there’s something depressing about speaking of SVP’s and realizing that where I used to work, I was on a speaking basis with those types of people. There’s something irritating about learning about processes and tools that at a previous job, I would have helped to implement or create.

But, the people seem pretty nice, the options in terms of advancement there if I want them, and shifts seem to improve rather quickly.

What will be weird is talking like people on the floor again, instead of the people in the offices. It’s strange to suddenly have to worry about things like break times and if I leave a mess on my desk. I’m used to coming and going as I pleased, relatively speaking. Of course, the option of PAID overtime is a nice one at the moment.

The training just might kill me again. People developing corporate curriculum’s-PLEASE explain to me why people need to be treated like 14 year olds?! I don’t want to get in a group and spend 20 minutes making a team sign. I don’t want to sit in a group to follow vague instructions with no explanation. I want the trainer to talk like a normal human instead of a babysitter. Dude, I just want to get to the actual information.

And I know-spending years reporting and analyzing data has left me with an inability to process superfluous information. I just can’t stand it. But I can’t help but wonder if training is 6 weeks because we spend most of the time playing.

Yeah, this isn’t the kind of playing I dig.

Overall, this move has felt right, which is good. Now if I can only stop getting annoyed at things like perfect attendance awards (cause I TOTALLY love those people who bring the flu to work!) and constant CONSTANT propaganda that professional, GOOD employees are the ones who love to socialize. If I can get past that, we’re good.

What’s happening with you? I’m not reading bubkiss right now.

3 Responses to “Tuesday”

  1. Jennifer March 24, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Oh it iiiiissssss one of those places, as I suspected.

    I can’t do the “socialize” to be a good employee thing. Or be nice to other people thing.

  2. Hannah March 24, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    What’s new with me? Turns out I am a dog person, because I love that damn smelly thing… believe me, no one was more surprised than me.

    And I’m putting together a proposal for this new job I’m trying to get, which will give me 20 hours a week from home.

    Oh, and it’s bloody snowing here again, and did we just skip spring, summer and fall? And now it’s winter forever?

    I’m glad you’re back at it, and it sounds like if you can get through the damn stupid training period it will be a pretty good gig. High fives all around.

  3. Bon March 25, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    ewww on the chirpiness of corporate culture. i can be all cheery as a facilitator but damn if the surly inside me doesn’t loathe being talked to like i’m twelve. and did when i was twelve, too…as i suspect you did.

    your commentary on the shift from offices to floor reminds me of the first job i had at the university here when i moved back to Canada…i went from being a professor to being a research assistant working as a 23 year old first-time manager’s pet bitch. i was ten years older and wow, did my tongue hurt from the biting it took.

    still, i’m glad the job offers opportunity, so long as you can live through the training. courage. maybe of the liquid kind?

    and me? i have a federal interview next week. my first. am intimidated. and i’m still blogging all David Adams Richards bleak b/c it needs to get out somewhere…

Leave a Reply

