Monday

23 Mar

Starting a new job sucks. I don’t do well in crowds, I hate being forced to buddy up to find answers that take two seconds to find, and I cannot stand having someone walk me through an application I cannot touch yet. Don’t get me started on ice breaker exercises. Do they actually break the ice for anyone? Everyone has or had a pet. Good to know.

In short, my brain nearly exploded today. But I got a cute new phone, which almost makes up for it. And unlimited text messaging! Be grateful I don’t have your phone numbers.

7 Responses to “Monday”

  1. Bon March 23, 2009 at 9:40 pm #

    sending big squishy hugs just in case your day hasn’t been invasive and irksome enough. 🙂

  2. crunchycarpets March 23, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    I hear yah.
    Which is why I prefer my work at home antisocial job..I get all hinky when my boss wants me down at his office…

    and yeah.don’t get me started on that ice breaker shit…jezus even a parent group I went to was doing that and I almost walked out right there…

  3. Mad March 23, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    You got meebo on your side bar? Dood.

    I’m hoping things will improve when you finally get to do the job.

  4. thordora March 23, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    That’s just it-the job sounds cool, with the potential to be making a lot more-the info itself is interesting, if I could get to it. I don’t need all this preamble, and I don’t need someone to show me how to click on a link. However, I’m beginning to realize that the majority of the population doesn’t even seem to know what the internet it. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but when you need to start explaining how to find contact us…sigh.

    REALLY glad I got that haul from Amazon awhile back…

    and yes, meebo. I’m on a few chat apps…

  5. Tea March 24, 2009 at 1:11 am #

    Congrats on surviving the first day – especially the ice breakers. Generally it’s an excercise in making everyone uncomfortable, except for that one person who just can’t wait to fill everyone else in on every detail of their lives.

    On the bright side, you’ll never have to do that first day again. It can only get better!

  6. Hannah March 24, 2009 at 7:50 am #

    The first day of a new job ALWAYS sucks ass, even if it’s dream job in paradise.

    Just keep your head down and get through the first week. Next Monday will look a lot different.

  7. Jennifer March 24, 2009 at 11:58 am #

    Must be for a big corp. What annoys me about them as well is that they have social groups, and team crap that makes me want to start stapling my hand.

Leave a Reply

