Duly Noted

16 Mar

If one is sitting in the local Indian resturant, faced with the second cutest little boy ever (second only to this guy and his twin), saying “Wow! He’s so FEY!” to the snotty, yippie mother is of COURSE going to be misconstrued or misheard as:

“Wow! He’s so GAY!”

Sigh.

8 Responses to “Duly Noted”

  1. crunchy March 16, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Nobody even knows what ‘fey’ means anyway..

  2. theclevermom March 16, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    That’s kind of like the time that we went christmas tree hunting and a mum was with her two boys, one of which who was developmentally delayed and being rather silly. I kept laughing at him mostly because he was so happy I was just delighted by his silly joy. His mother thought I was laughing at him and yelled at me. I was so shocked and devastated I just stood there with my jaw on the floor unable to explain.

  3. Gabriel... March 16, 2009 at 6:53 pm #

    Your province has an Indian restaurant?

  4. Hannah March 16, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    You used “fey” in a sentence that didn’t start with “Tina”?

    I really need to read more books.

  5. cooledskin March 16, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    Hmm. “Fey” has a slightly pejorative sense to it all on its own though, y’know? Like “strange,” or “doomed to die,” or “under a spell,” or “crazy,” or “overly refined.”

    Well, I doubt most people would recognise the word to begin with, anyway, so I imagine she wasn’t clinging to antiquated definition of the word anyway.

    Sorry, I’m just in a contrary mood tonight.

  6. thordora March 16, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    Yeah, Puck doesn’t always come to mind as a good guy does he?…

    Considering how she was when we were cooing over the little dude, I’m pretty sure she thought gay, and not something else…

  7. Gwen March 17, 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    is there a difference? err, I mean, I really need to find my dictionary. OR just use one of those on-line ones.

  8. thordora March 18, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Yeah, I think I’m just not going to say it again in public. 😛

Leave a Reply

