Pop Quiz: Finding Serenity

9 Mar

So I get my eagerly awaited Amazon order today, and I’m pawing through the luscious pile of books (yeah, I’m odd-bear with me) when I notice that I have two copies of one book.

Odd.

I have two copies of “Finding Serenity”-it’s a book of essays about Joss Wheadon’s Firefly series, which I love. I figure what happened was that when the second volume went out of stock, I mucked something up and gave myself two copies of this thus far fun to read book.

serentiy

Now, I’m a lazy girl. Just as the person still waiting for yarn (which I am going to mail out tomorrow I SWEAR, assuming I can still find your address.) Or the person waiting for the baby blanket for a kid almost a year old (I am nearly done-starting on the border this week!) I cannot be bothered to send this back to Amazon for a credit. That’s effort.

What I am willing to do if offer it to someone who wants it, and can follow simple instructions:

I’ll draw a name in a week’s time, on the day I get my next tattoo, March 17. All you need to do is leave me a comment on this post. Extra entry if you tell me why you love Firefly, or if you link to this post from your site as well.

That’s it. Nothing terribly difficult since as we’ve established, I’m lazy as hell. 🙂

I also now have about 40 books to be read. Good thing I’m currently unemployed.

30 Responses to “Pop Quiz: Finding Serenity”

  1. theclevermom March 9, 2009 at 11:45 pm #

    Oh my, I would so love this. I adore Firefly/Serenity. I love that Kaylie comes off like an innocent and yet is in charge of her own sexuality. I love that Mal acts the hard man but is a gentleman with a soft heart. I love that Jayne names a gun Vera! I love that it’s about people who live in space and fly around on a spaceship!

  2. la March 10, 2009 at 12:01 am #

    What books did you get? Take a picture if you’re too lazy to type the titles!

    I love new books, just adore the smell, but money’s tight so I’m stuck with curry-stained library books for the foreseeable future. (Who eats curry while reading? I ask you!)

  3. la March 10, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    Oh, and you don’t need to do an entry for me as I live in the UK (and I, er, hated Serenity. There I said it. I thought it was awful. )

  4. Hannah March 10, 2009 at 7:36 am #

    I ask you – what’s NOT to love about Firefly? (I mean, other than that they killed off Wash and Shepherd in Serenity – WTF was that about?)

    I love the black humour that runs through every episode.

    I love that Michael and I watched it together and both enjoyed it – unlike Battlestar Gallatica, which is starting to kill me slowly with the tedium and what’s up with this whole season 2.5 business?

    I love that the show never once talked down its viewers. That’s a rare commodity, I think.

    What other books did you decide on?

  5. EJ March 10, 2009 at 11:50 am #

    Small question: Why spend $ on tattoo when unemployed with 2 kids?

  6. thordora March 10, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Small Question-how is that any of your business?

  7. Lesha March 10, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Oh Firefly. What do I love about it? Two words. Captain Hot Pants. Okay three words. And I love Jayne. I knitted three Jayne hats for a Sci-Fi convention one year. And Adam was there. And I have pictures of him and ME. Together!

    Okay, that has nothing to do with Firefly really.

    I love that it’s not at all modern, but more like western. Western Sci-Fi.

    Really, I could go on and on.

    Hannah, I agree! I can’t believe they killed Wash AND Shepherd! Dashing all hopes of a sequel or further series. *sigh*

  8. Kelly O March 10, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Yes, Thordora, shame on you. You should spend your money on better things. Like, I don’t know, whatever EJ thinks is an appropriate way to spend money. God forbid you should take a small part of your severance and do something just for yourself that makes you happy. WHAT ABOUT THE CHILDREN?!!

  9. Kelly O March 10, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    Also, I love Firefly for a lot of reasons, but mostly for the scene of Summer standing in the doorway with the big knife-y things.

  10. Molly March 10, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    I think you should spend your money on two-piece swimsuits and lava cake. And subscriptions to Nanotechnology Express Magazine. And a lawnmower. And a disability-assistance-trained weiner dog.

    In other words: fuck ’em if they can’t take a joke.

    • thordora March 10, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

      I so TOTALLY want a weiner dog. 🙂

  11. Molly March 10, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    You’re out there spending money on tattoos and, I don’t know, books and food and shit when you don’t even have a weiner dog?

    Jesus, what is the MATTER with you? Just…God. Come the eff ON, woman!

  12. Jennifer March 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Thats cool when they send extra.

    I was late to the Serenity Party. Fire Fly aired while I was in uni so my TV watching was sparse. We watched the movie and loved it. We have the DVD series but have yet to watch it. Hey, we had BSG for almost a year before we started to watch!

    I had no clue Joss Whedon had his hand in it, or I would have watched it sooner.

    I’m hoping to find Dollhouse on the TV and get that on PVR so I can watch it. If I can get all EPIs the better. And Castle is another Joss that I have to start to record. *sigh*

    I think it would be a cool read. Plus, postage isn’t that much!

    HA!

    I see the trolls are still lurking. Course, if they KNEW you, then maybe the dork would know that you already have another job lined up for the end of the month eh?

    Fucknut.

    • thordora March 10, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

      Someone knowing me before mouthing off. As IF!

  13. Hannah March 10, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    I heart the other commenters for laying hilarious ass-slaps on trollish dicks.

    And like, WOW. Wonder why EJ is spending $ on internet access when children are starving in Darfur?

    Just a small question.

    • Lesha March 10, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

      I would totally send my extra internets to the children in Darfur if I could. How can they live with out the tweets?!

      • Hannah March 10, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

        Won’t somebody PLEASE think of the children?!?

  14. Mad March 10, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    I gotta be frank here. I wanted to love Firefly more than I did. I was such a Buffy-head and somehow Firefly just didn’t grab me in the way I wanted it to. I think if I had seen it before Buffy I would have loved it but it just couldn’t match the smarts and complexity of the former. I also thought Whedon was trying to do smart feminist stuff with the Courtesan character but he never quite realized his vision. I haven’t seen the movie, though, so maybe I am missing something.

    I am starting to warm to The Dollhouse but am wearying of the “hot chicks take down patriarchy” Whedonesque trope. Or not. Maybe the hot chicks just get saved by Helo.

    I guess this is why I need the book ’cause clearly I need to be enlightened.

    Also, I’ve heard that you can serve wiener dogs on buns to starving children.

    • Hannah March 10, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

      Just guffawed out loud and am now strangely hot for you, Mad. “weiner dogs on buns to starving children”… genius.

  15. thordora March 10, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    mmmmm weiner dogs.

    I cannot stand whatsher name in Dollhouse, and I haven’t seen it yet. It looked cool, but not cool enough to get me to watch.

    Firefly is awesome to watch in a few sittings. Squee. I didn’t totally love Buffy either.

    • Lesha March 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

      I came around to Buffy a little late. I mean after I saw the movie, I couldn’t imagine a series could be all that.

      Eliza Duschu…I liked her when she was on Buffy. But I haven’t seen Dollhouse. I miss my DVR. 😦 Also, I miss watching Summer Glau on Terminator Chronicles, or whatever its called. Summer is one hot awesome robot.

  16. Gabriel... March 10, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    I liked the blue chick with the boobies… no, wait, that was Farscape. Firefly was cool… not nearly enough blue boobs*, but I liked the wild west in space setting. Even without the blue breasts Firefly has always been in my top-five TV programs.

    *I have the same problem with Battlestar Galactica and The Office.

  17. Ms. Changes Pants While Driving March 10, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    MEEEEE!!! MEMMEMEMEMEMMEEEEE!!! PICK MEEEEEEE!!!

    i love firefly because i love the characters. i love their relationships. and i love seeing mal’s butt.

    oh yeah… NOT a fan of dollhouse because of the chick. i never liked her. and she’s all “i want to be in ironman.” what? who invited you. go away.

    have you seen Castle? that show did not disappoint. SO glad to see nathan sweetass back on tv.

    ooo… if i win, will you sign the book?

    PICK MEEEEE!!!

    that’s two entries, right?

  18. thordora March 10, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    I haven’t seen Castle yet! When is it on?!

    • Lesha March 11, 2009 at 9:47 am #

      Castles the one where’s he’s a writer with the NYPD right? I think it was on Monday night at 10. Same station as Dancing with the Stars (don’t ask how I know please). It looked good, I wanted to watch it, but I was sooo tired.

  19. EJ March 12, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    No the issue is not “that makes you happy”. My question is may it not be better to save your money now that you are unemployed and be able to provide for your children?

    • Gabriel... March 12, 2009 at 4:24 pm #

      Yeah Thor, maybe you should think about THAT $60 while you’re being so unselfish and putting your children’s health, clothing and food needs before yours and shit. Fuck I hate you mothers who care for their children so well, what with your “bedtime stories” and making sure your kids are “educated” and “kind to their elders” and making sure there’s always “healthy food on the table” and a “loving environment” for them to “be safe in”. Jesus Christ, I don’t pay my fucking taxes so loving and engaged parents like you can go out and take their fucking well-behaved children to museums where all they do is learn about “stuff” all day.

      Start your job sooner, Thor, or I’ll call someone and tell them what a great fucking example you’ve been for the rest of us.

  20. thordora March 12, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    Perhaps you didn’t read above, but I AM employed. It just doesn’t start until later.

    Perhaps ask about the job before the judging start, m’kay?

  21. Kate March 19, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    I love Firefly for many reasons (great writing, kick ass fights, cool sets) but the main one is probably Nathan Fillion – that man is one hunk of browncoat FINE.

    Have linked to you and also retweeted so that should cover it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Firefly giveaway « all five horizons - April 3, 2009

    […] you love Firefly as much as me?  Well, get yourself over to Thordora’s blog to see if you can win a book she is giving away called Finding […]

Leave a Reply

