I’m sick which means lazy

5 Feb

Jen shot me some questions on the “5 Questions” meme like, a month and a half ago, and I’m just now getting around to it. That tells you how quick I am with the email.

Heh.

Plus, the sheer amount of meme tagging on Facebook has me going a little batty, so why not keep it going. And frankly, I’ve had the urge to write the past few days, but I feel too much like something you’d scrape from under a table to bother.

So…Questions

1. What would be your dream job and why?

Simply put, I want to be a midwife. The reasons aren’t deep or much beyond “Dude, I get to help someone be ALIVE!”. But the reasons are also knowing so many women who have had such horrid experiences with their births, experiences that don’t need to happen if people learn to back the fuck off 80% of them. Of course, I want to go into nursing first to have that grounding, but now that midwifery is becoming possible in my province, I might be a little closer to my 10 year goal.

2.  If you went into politics, what issue would you focus on? 

Mental Health. I think it impacts for more people than we allow ourselves to believe, and not just in the “batshit, needs drugs” sorta way. Making it “ok” to be sick in this way, developing a culture that understands that mental and physical health go hand in hand. A world where a difference in brain chemistry doesn’t make one a pariah.

3. What draws you to other people?

Not much usually. I don’t really like people, not in any intimate way. But if someone does catch my attention, it’s usually because of what they’re saying, reading or listening to, in that order. Intellect usually draws me in, and common sense. Pie in the sky only works if you’re high.

4.  What do I love most about my husband.

His ability to make me giggle, regardless of what’s going on. It’s saved my sanity many times, and allows me to step off my “this is serious thread. I is serious cat” stool and see the forest for the trees. SOMEONE has to poke holes in my pomposity.

5.  What is it that you love the most about yourself?

Depends on the day. My survivalism I suppose-nothing ever really, truly gets me down, aside from my own innate lazy streak.

 

Apparently there are rules;
“Want to be part of it?
Follow these instructions:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.”

10 Responses to “I’m sick which means lazy”

  1. Helen February 5, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    That is so awesome that you want to be a midwife. Such a selfless way to choose a dream career. I’m not that selfless. My dream career is mostly about what I just want to do: be a concert violinist in a symphony orchestra that does tours around the world.

    Being a midwife would terrify me because I’d be so concerned about accidentally hurting either the mother or the baby. Kudos to your courage.

  2. daisybones February 5, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    🙂 I’m scared to catch babies with my 1.5 arms. You kick ass!

    I’m in for interview meme!

  3. Green February 5, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    “Interview me.”

  4. Emma February 5, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    Wow, it IS amazing that you want to be a midwife. That’s awesome (<–highest compliment a teenager like myself can pay). I’ve always admired people who somehow manage to stick it through the Herculean task that is labor – my father fell asleep (not kidding :D) and somehow woke up just when the hard part was over. He claims that was an “accident”. /eye roll

  5. Hannah February 5, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    Hey, I’ll take that – interview me, although since we’re both on facebook and you’ve seen all my christly memes this week I can’t imagine what’s left to ask me.

  6. CharmingBitch February 6, 2009 at 4:42 am #

    Interview me.

  7. cori February 6, 2009 at 9:11 am #

    You knew I’d bite. Interview me!!

  8. B February 6, 2009 at 6:27 pm #

    I’m game. Interview me.

  9. Emma February 7, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Ooh! And I forget to say that I want to be interviewed! /facepalm 😀

  10. Quadelle February 12, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Midwives make such a difference, I hope your dream becomes a reality sooner rather than later. 10 years is a long time to keep a goal going – at 29 I chose working as a psycholgist as my 10 year goal, and I’m now in year eight. It’s a hard slog some days.

    I’m up for an interview. 🙂

Leave a Reply

