Spring…pffft. As if.

26 Jan
I begin to doubt that green exists about now.

I begin to doubt that green exists about now.

 

It was -38C this morning. (That’s about -31F for you yanks) For some inexplicable reason, I made my daughter trudge to school. (I’m thinking it’s that whole “I did it, so why wouldn’t you?” idea…uphill both ways and all) Lordie it was fucking freezing, and of course, the snowpant, 4 layer clad kid dawdled the entire.way.there.

Only Vivian could make 1 km take 20 minutes in the cold.

It’s been the kind of cold that makes you long wistfully for burning your feet on asphalt, for heat that pounds on your head until you nearly collapse. I hate summer. And yet here I am today, dreaming of sweat beading down my spine, building up even when I’m not moving. Dreaming of a soft wind through the maple tree behind the house, the one just begging for a swing and a treehouse.

Someone pointed out today that living in this climate makes no sense-why would we? Why live somewhere you can’t be outside safely half the time? Who the hell settled this place? It had to have been summer when someone pointed and snickered “Great land! Really!” before running off to Florida or Texas.

It’s enough to make me sell everything and move to Australia.

11 Responses to “Spring…pffft. As if.”

  1. bromac January 27, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    Don’t hate me. It is going to get into the low 80’s today. Farenheit.

    I could not live in your weather. Period.

  2. cori January 27, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    Boston is expecting another foot of snow this week. I have had enough! Maybe we can go to Australia together.

  3. thordora January 27, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    I can’t live in it either!!!!!

    Cori, you’re on. Myself and a friend in grade school used to talk about moving there and farming sheep. That sounds like a better idea every single day.

    We had the snow last year. I’m not sure which is worse.

  4. nessa January 27, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    It was -30F two weeks ago. I kept Ava home for two days, because I just couldn’t take the little ones out in that weather. A week later is 30F and I was like “WOooooo! Heat wave!!!!” and we went to the park! Another mom said, “There are so many kids here, it is like spring!” To which I said “Well, it IS 60 degrees warmer than it was a week ago!!!” INSANE. I am so over this fucking winter.

  5. thordora January 27, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    Yeah, I’m not real pleased with the “only kids more than 2.4kms from the school can take the bus” rule right now. How in HELL is a 5 year old supposed to go that far in this cold? Asinine. If it had of been -31f again, i WOULD have kept her home. It was tolerable this morning.

  6. Betsey January 27, 2009 at 11:44 am #

    See? this is why I actually like living where I do. I get 4 distinct seasons so when I get sick of one, we move right into the next one. Oh and have the random 65-70 degree (Yankee Farenheit) day in the winter.

  7. Eden January 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Wow. When it gets under 10 (F) here, they delay or cancel school.

  8. thordora January 27, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    Us canadians are hearty….people write into the paper bitching about how much school is missed and how the teachers are over paid if there are snow days from glare ice on the roads….idiots.

  9. mimbles January 29, 2009 at 10:33 pm #

    Large parts of Australia are currently enduring a heat wave – at the moment it’s 43C in Melbourne, 42C in Adelaide and 37C in Canberra and several more days of similar temps are still to come. Are you sure you want to live here?

    (I’m in Sydney, it’s only 32C at my place at the moment)

  10. thordora January 29, 2009 at 10:56 pm #

    er….maybe not. I can’t stand summer either…. 🙂

  11. Krishanna January 30, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    What? You sweat ? You don’t “glisten”?

Leave a Reply

