Twice

23 Jan

For the record:

I have now had TWO cops visit me regarding the “incident” after being “tipped” off by strangers.

I have now had TWO cops say “nothing to worry about here” and leave without further incident.

I have now had TWO cops examining me, and my house in that way only the police can.

I have now felt invaded more than a lot over less than 140 characters on a random website.

Have I learned enough of a lesson yet?

Have I proved my love for my children enough yet?

25 Responses to “Twice”

  1. Emma January 23, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    WTF? Why a second time?

  2. CharmingBitch January 23, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Disgusting.

  3. Sandie January 23, 2009 at 8:27 pm #

    Why? They should be focusing on real problems…not you. I’m so sorry- it’s really not fair.

  4. Nadine AKA Scarbiedoll January 23, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    Dude. This is scary. It just brings to light how vulnerable we all are, putting ourselves out there like this — but scarier still — how easy we are to find! Gah! Brutal. I’m so sorry that people are lame-o idiots who clearly need to stop watching so much Law and Order and Fox News.

  5. Cynthia Page January 23, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    Un-freaking-real. You are actually the second person I know who received an unexpected visitor today over nothing (the other had some “concerned” anonymous tipster say her house was unsanitary and unsafe – luckily CPS disagreed). Sickening.

  6. Mad Hatter January 23, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    What? What’s up? A new call or a follow-up from the old one? What is this whacked out shit? Email me if you need to talk.

  7. betsey January 23, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    Unreal…

  8. Gabriel... January 23, 2009 at 9:18 pm #

    It’s time to lay a complaint of your own… this is harassment. Find out who’s doing sending the police, what it’s based on and contact Twitter and have them take all the crap about you down…

  9. Gabriel... January 23, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    …start putting together records, find the Twitter trail started by Tara and “Resource Mom” (aka: Amy Lupold Bair), Warren Whitlock and the rest of them — start in their archives back on the date of the original incident. Get the dates. Once you make a complaint to the local authorities it’ll make things easier later on…

  10. thordora January 23, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    The Warren Guy-you mean this douche? http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/archives/007326.html

  11. Gabriel... January 23, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    That’s him. He was one of the people tweeting with Tara that day. Same with Bair.

  12. Molly Chase January 24, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Talked to an attorney friend, and you’ve got a pretty fair case for harassment, it sounds like.

    What I’d consider, though, is if you just want to make it all go away, or if you want your pound of flesh too. A harassment suit is likely to drag it on for awhile.

    P.S.: that Warren Whitlock guy? Yeah, he sounds like a first-rate douche.

  13. Hannah January 24, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    Never heard of Warren Whitlock. Um, wow. Calling him a douche is kind of insulting to douches. In-sane.

  14. March January 24, 2009 at 12:49 pm #

    oh my freaking gosh!

    I can’t believe this!
    seriously I feel like punching people over this… I so want to punch this idiots that have nothing better to do.

  15. Eden January 24, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    “Talked to an attorney friend, and you’ve got a pretty fair case for harassment, it sounds like.”

    I second that. Sometimes the only way to stop a bully is to get them where it hurts. For some people, that may be the pocketbook. I would call the local cops and say that you’re being harassed and this the person — in the US — who’s doing it and if you have any recourse. They may tell you to see a lawyer or they may tell you how to file a complaint of your own in the US.

    My asshole BIL is a cop here in Pennsylvania. Maybe I’ll extend an olive branch and find out from him exactly what someone in this commonwealth would need to do to stop online harassment. Emma is another very informed person to ask.

  16. Aurelia January 25, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    This is unreal…..is it a second separate complaint, or just a recheck from the first time?

    I’m so so sorry.

    I second calling the cops and asking what to do stop the harassment, but if the locals have no ideas, I have a friend who deals with their internet harassment at the RCMP level, and perhaps can help?

  17. Melissia January 25, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I am so sorry. I came to check on you as I found a link to a blog post about you on an ad. So sorry that this is happening. It is now being discussed on a blog called Families.com. I won’t links as it is large, commercial and can easily be found, there was an ad for christ’s sake! It is under the parenting section as they have multiple ads. It does not flame you and is actually well written. Perhaps that is what triggered the recent visit.

  18. March January 25, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    when I was telling my husband about this second incident and how enraged it makes me, he mentioned that it’s highly likely that you’ll be visited a couple or even a few more times as follow up on the cops being called on you. even though he doest not know the law in Canada, the “law enforcement” side of my husband thinks this was forwarded to CPS and that they’ll be following up on you “just to make sure” that nothing has changed. he’s as upset as I am about this, and sadly he says you should prepare yourself for more visits. I hope he is wrong.

  19. mamatried January 25, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    Well, m*f*

    This sucks. I’m so sorry.

  20. thordora January 25, 2009 at 8:18 pm #

    It was a secondary source, a “new” tip about something from Jan 5. So yeah, if it does come up again from that direction, I will be talking to the police about it being harassment.

    I’m just really glad that all other humans never have a single irritated thought in their heads. Apparently they’re all lying about getting Monty Python or Black Adder…. 😛

  21. March January 25, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    oh my gosh! from a new tip? what the heck!
    seriously people have nothing to do in their lives and need to find excitement in the sickest of ways.

    I’m beyond sorry this is happening, really… if you locate them I’ll go and punch them, I have enough stress over this move that I can use giving someone a good whooping.

  22. landismom January 26, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Good Lord. Can’t believe this is still going on.

  23. bromac January 26, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    Fucking Bullshit

  24. Kelly O January 27, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Wait, what?!! Oh holy hell. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do. This is insane, and if it happened to you, it could happen to any one of us.

  25. SewDucky February 13, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    I was concerned when I saw it, like a MONTH ago for about an hour, saw things were fine, and come back and read here on occasion because I like the blog. A second time? Really?

    I came down in the middle of it before: yes, I’ve been there with my own, hoped it was the case of parental fustration and it was. Usually tho I try not to say too much about it one way or the other online without a smiley face, but come on. It’s old news why keep bringing it up?

    Sorry people have nothing better to do then be an ass.

Leave a Reply

