Call for Guest Posts: Whose problem are we anyway?

8 Jan

Well…exciting times around here.

I don’t much like excitement. I’m kinda like that old lady everyone grew up knowing who had cats and weird hats and smelled like cabbage and poo. I’m quite happy with my books and my music and maybe my paints and some paper. I don’t like attention, I don’t like to be popular, for good or bad.

I’m a little tired after this week. Mentally, physically. I know my stomach, which has been knotted and nauseous and pukey (literally) would like to calm the fuck down now. I’ve been riding a thin edge between clarity and agitation, and I’d like to climb down off that fence now.

The wonderful and awetastic Eden prodded me with the great idea of guest posts for the next little while. Now that all this has hit NPR (for some reason, I thought maybe he wouldn’t write the article if I said no to an interview, but hey, no biggie) I’d like to just sorta sit back and keep my hands free from the pot.

So-I’m asking you, yes you, if you’d like to be a guest poster over the next 5-10 days. The catch? I want to focus on what my fubar moment brought home to all of us-the concept of social responsibility and duty through online community and interaction. Should I jump on anything you say that can be construed as dangerous, crazy or bad, or should I look around first? Do I have a duty to you, relative stranger online, or can I “walk” away. Does networking necessitate involvement, when the goal is ad revenue and page views?

And what about popularity, “fame”? I was suddenly thrust from scant traffic to HUGE traffic overnight. Thankfully this had died down, helped by my diligence in keeping it down. But would it be ethical to ride the wave, to egg it on? Is it ethical for others to continually link and keep the story alive without context or relevance?

Even if you don’t necessarily agree with my points of view on some of this-I believe the conversation that seems to have been started from all of this is an important one, and I’d like it if we could be a part of furthering it.

If you’d like to guest post for me, please send me an email at thordora AT gmail DOT com with “Guest Post” in the title. (Otherwise I’ll lose it-short term memory of a gnat at best)

5 Responses to “Call for Guest Posts: Whose problem are we anyway?”

  1. bromac January 9, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    Ahhh, a good book does it for me. Have you read Modoc? Please do, if not.

    I wish I could paint. Both my grandmother and my great grandmother wished I could too, and tried to cram it down my throat. I do create mosaic’s. I can express what little artistic talent I have through that. I love it and had done only one since my daughter was born. Now I am back on board and loving it.

    I will ponder the guest post thing. We’re putting down our 14yo black lab on tuesday, so maybe I can get something on that.

  2. Emma January 9, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Guest posting sounds like a great idea – you probably need some time to think things through. I don’t mean that in a bad, sarcastic way. I mean it in the sincerest way possible.

    I know that you think a lot of people who were part of that huge traffic wave are just going to read that one post and leave – maybe some will, maybe a lot will. I’m staying, though. And I’m really glad I am. 🙂 God, that sounded so corny. But it is also true.

  3. Eden January 9, 2009 at 8:04 pm #

    You know I’m in. Will try to work on something tonight. I need to send it to someone to give it a look-over first & will get it to you after.

  4. misspudding January 10, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    Oh sorry. I didn’t send you email with “Guest Post” in the title. But I did send you email.

    Heh.

    Good luck with all of this BS.

  5. Sandie January 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Found you by way of past trainwreck. Will be staying because what I found was much more interesting than a boring ol’ mommy blogger.

    I’ll read the guest posts, but will be looking forward to reading what you have to say in the future. Your honesty is utterly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

