Best Xmas Present Evah!

18 Dec

blunder_woman1

I finally found the original image again-this is Mauricio Dias’ take on Wonder Woman, and I LOVE IT. Of course, I added legs, but still…

I’m sure many people are wondering why in the hell I’d put a comic book character on my forearm…

After my mother died, I spent ever MORE time at the local library-as it was,  or I’d been trolling the adult section since I was 7 or 8 (early, precocious reader), but after mom’s death, I stumbled across a collection of Wonder Woman comics, golden age era, with a foreward from Gloria Steinam I believe. I read those thing so many times, I’m pretty sire my library number, 2912, is STILL imprinted.

That book gave me a woman to look up to, strong woman, without fear to be like, to strive for. (It also started to let loose some rather interesting predilications regarding ropes and chains, but let’s assume those were already there.)

Wonder Woman was there as a woman when I needed someone to be. She cared for her friends, for the people she loved, and was fair and merciful. She became a woman I wanted to be, but she also reminded me that strength can be in many forms, not just at the end of a fist or a gun.

She’ll be a reminder still, that my womanhood is much much more than my parts.

14 Responses to “Best Xmas Present Evah!”

  1. thordora December 18, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    Please disregard the fact that I’m a bleeder.

  2. Jen December 18, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    LOVE IT!

  3. Cerra December 18, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    I found being super hydrated helped with the bleeding as well as avoiding caffeine for a few days prior. I know the first one is something you’ve got covered, though! Looks awesome 🙂

  4. thordora December 18, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    It was mostly the gauge needle he was using for the coloring…HURT like a mofo, but over with quick.

  5. Kelly O December 18, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    Oh dude, it’s GORGEOUS!!!

  6. cori December 19, 2008 at 9:20 am #

    AWESOME!!! Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!

  7. sweetsalty kate December 19, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    she is effing hot. go thor!

  8. bromac December 19, 2008 at 10:12 am #

    Oh, that is so awesome!!! I love it!

  9. Bon December 19, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    she rocks.

  10. Cerra December 19, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    Yeah…magnums are fast but kinda tear up the skin underneath. I always find the liner needles worst. Although I think I’m starting to forget what it’s like.

  11. superlagirl December 19, 2008 at 1:12 pm #

    Awesome!

  12. crazymumma December 19, 2008 at 3:39 pm #

    I love wonderwoman. And you know reading back in your posts, as I have been absent in bloggy land for quite awhile lately….I gotta say she is perfect on you. Very apt.

  13. summer December 20, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    “Try to describe her and not use the word statuesque”

    so perfect. I love it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonder Woman Day IV 2009 « Retro City - September 8, 2009

    […] para minha surpresa, recebi há alguns meses a notícia que a minha ilustração do ano passado foi tatuada no braço por uma mulher! Achei legal a tatuagem, mas foi ela mesma acrescentou as pernas na Mulher […]

Leave a Reply

