Bowling for Toddler!

21 Sep

The other day I had a brilliant idea.

Let’s take them BOWLING.

Let it be known that this is a huge stretch for me-doing something new, going freaking bowling. I haven’t gone bowling since I was 14 or so, the last time with some older guy who wanted in my pants. (Even at 14 I was like “Bowling? Srsly?”) But I thought the girls might enjoy it-something new for them to do, something interesting.

And frankly, it was a ball. It was far far far too hot in the place, and it took us awhile to figure out how to work the lane, but the girls had a hoot, cheering and yelling anytime we managed to hit something, sliding around on their shoes. The best part though? When they turn the lights down for Glow Bowling-disco balls, black lights…I could have done without the sappy country music, but otherwise, the girls were entranced. So lesson for next time-make sure they nap so we can stay later.

And ask for a lane away from other people. Being surrounded by “serious bowlers” isn’t fun, especially when one middle aged, trying to be “cool” with my daughter and her friends sniffs “I should have brought my OWN balls” when she realizes she had to share with us. My heart broke for the little wench, it really did.

Watching a pin get knocked into someone else’s lane was rather amusing too. πŸ˜›

I really didn’t expect to enjoy myself, but the looks on the faces of the girls, their happy little faces when they knocked down a pin-that reminded me why I’m trying to work outside the box a bit more. Cause we’re all a lot happier with something new in our lives.

10 Responses to “Bowling for Toddler!”

  1. Bon September 21, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    it’s not cool that i secretly love bowling, is it? even though i SUCK.

    it’s never occurred to me that O might like it someday soonish though. love the look in that pic.

  2. thordora September 21, 2008 at 9:47 am #

    there’s lots of ball dropping, but she had a good time. πŸ˜› And it’s not like curling where I’ll need to worry about them cracking the ice with the rocks.

  3. Jennifer September 21, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    You are WAY braver than I. I could take the 5 yo, no problemo. I shudder to think what the 2yo would do with a 5lb projectile.

  4. Gwen September 21, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    Do they have bumper bowling at your alley? Ours all have a few lanes where they put rails in the gutters so that kids can actually knock down pins regularly. It also makes it easier for me to break 13 this way.

  5. March September 21, 2008 at 10:37 am #

    we love bowling, though I’m not good whatsoever πŸ™‚
    Morgan loves it!
    we’ll start going here on base, Dh is very competitive though and he takes away some of the fun of just goofing off. He’s teaching Morgan to do it right πŸ™‚
    it’s great fun indeed!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

  6. Jupiter September 21, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    Fun! Now I want to go bowling. I don’t even think we have a bowling alley around here anymore!

  7. Marcy September 21, 2008 at 8:05 pm #

    I love that tiny little ball she’s holding.

  8. Kyle September 21, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    I love cosmic bowling. Gotta get out and do that again someday. This is a good reminder of just how much fun it is. And great photo!

  9. bromac September 22, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Sounds like a fantastic experience for all. Bravo!

  10. San September 23, 2008 at 12:10 am #

    My sister’s birthday is soon but I hadn’t considered bowling until I read this. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

