Perchance to Dream?

3 Sep

I dreamt last night that I was flying.

For most of you, this is likely no big deal, and you’re sitting there saying “And? Her point is?” For me, dreamer of death and destruction, murder and mayhem, this was, in a word, incredible, and leading me to believe that something in my head is beginning to work right.

In the dream I was with a man, a father/mentor/master-I couldn’t tell. I wasn’t a child, but I wasn’t old either. At first my ability stemmed from his, some type of magic. We flitted from place to place, building to building, gliding through the air. We landed on the still blade of a wind turbine, high enough to see for days. My intermittent fear of heights? It didn’t matter. I felt it-I faced it, and it melted away.

And then, with a nod to him, I lept into the air, circling myself in rapture, casting my body around and around, the wind rushing through me, my hair as feathers, icarus to no one.

It has been a very long time since I woke up from a dream begging to go back, begging to simmer in a simple feeling. It was that sense you have when you eat something fantastic, when you get a new haircut and run your fingers through your now fabulous hair, that voice inside saying “Now THAT was JUST FINE!”

It was just plain nice to have a normal dream, to have a simple happy, positive dream with no blood, no real death, no pain.

What a concept.

What’s your favorite dream?

 

(eta: Found this, which makes me smile: “If you are flying with ease and enjoying the scene and landscape below, then it suggests that you are on top of a situation. You have risen above something. It may also mean that you have gained a different perspective on things. Flying dreams and the ability to control your flight is representative of your own personal sense of power.”)

9 Responses to “Perchance to Dream?”

  1. Hannah September 3, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    I don’t have a favourite – seems like the only dreams I remember are scary in some way.

    Although during both pregnancies I had some truly high-quality sex dreams… I was ALWAYS disappointed when I woke up from those. And I never seem to have them when I’m not knocked up. I guess it was compensation for the gut-busting heartburn and horrible ligament pain, or something.

    Yours sounds lovely. I hope you have it again soon.

  2. sweetsalty kate September 3, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    My friend Leigh would say you were astral travelling. I know I brought that term up as a joke but I have to say, it’s been on my mind lately, as I’ve been dreaming too, suddenly, and it’s incredible and profound and totally new.
    http://leighsteele.wordpress.com/2008/08/31/so-heavy-and-so-free/

    What do you think your brain was trying to tell you? Did you feel like your companion was someone you were familiar with, or was he familiar with you? It sounds like you were learning, doing something new, and he was helping you to learn. And then you did it on your own.

    A pretty wonderful message, from where I stand… do you concur?

  3. Eden September 3, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    I dream that I’m married to or dating Matt Damon. I have a theory that it’s b/c he looks slightly like an old bf but I’m not sure why it’s always Matt Damon. Anyway, I haven’t dreamed one of those for a while and I always like those.

  4. Carin September 3, 2008 at 11:00 am #

    Hmmm. Favourite dream. Mine are usually wacked, although not as wacked as yours have been. Maybe when I dream about having fun at a fair. I never want to get off the fun ride. I’m so happy that you’ve had a nice dream. Wishing you many more of those.

  5. Maya September 3, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    My favourite dreams are always the ones where I’m skating – and skating well, not holding myself up along the boards. It’s like a flying dream, since I can’t do either in waking life.

  6. B September 3, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    What does that say about me that I fly in almost all of my dreams. Sometimes I have to kick my legs a little, like I’m swimming, and sometimes it’s harder than others, but I almost always fly instead of walk. When I wake up it’s a little dissapointing to have that power be gone. I like to look at the tops of trees.

  7. thordora September 3, 2008 at 4:29 pm #

    Kate, it didn’t really feel like anything, aside from someone giving me permission to go-to open my arms and truly be myself, to acknowledge what’s within me…I think I have turned a corner and started being honest with myself…

    and this is my reward.

    Don’t really believe in astral travel. Tried and tried and tried when I was young and dabbling…never worked. Not once. 😦

  8. Marcy September 3, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    Flying dreams are among my favorites. I love dreams in general. Even the painful and difficult and scary ones are valuable to me.

    Flying — for me it doesn’t seem to be about power I really have or feel in waking life, but about freedom and centeredness and skill that I wish I had — to be my own true self without all the hangups about selfishness or hurting people.

    Sometimes dreams are hilarious, like the one where my husband got up on a table and sang “like a big blue skyline — your mama, your mama TALL!” (Mark does NOT sing and does NOT get up on tables.) or the one (a pregnancy dream) where the island in the lake, the island that was a giant cooked chicken carcass all picked over, was JESUS.

    Some of the ones that make me most wistful are dreams about some sort of companion — sometimes it’s Jesus, sometimes a father figure, sometimes a doctor, sometimes a lover — and sometimes the relationship is warmer and sometimes it’s more distant — but it always leaves me longing for more of him.

  9. bine September 4, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    i have lots of beautiful dreams about flying that i love, but none so … magic.
    one of my favorites that has repeated several times is that i’m swimming in a river that gets faster and faster until i get to a waterfall. but i don’t crash down with the water but i go straight out over the edge, i continue to swim in the air – i fly.

Leave a Reply

