About the hair….

3 Sep

At some point, when I have both the time and the money, I wish to get my hair cut. Part of my “change will do me good” campaign of terror.

Problem is, with my fat head, it’s VERY easy to go wrong. My hair is longish-about the middle of my back I suppose. Like this:

Hey look! I have a giant head!

Hey look! I have a giant head!

 

Pardon the fat face-at least I missed all the chins.

I have enough of a wave in my hair to irritate me, and it turns into housewive hair if it’s too short.

What should I do, those of you with some fashion sense and ability to make good hair choices. See that halo? THAT is the main reason I need to cut a significant chunk of dead off. When my hair is losing the fight, it become FUZZ.

17 Responses to “About the hair….”

  1. Caitlin September 3, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    I have curly hair and I’ve had the best luck getting good haircuts from people with curly hair or who know how to work with something besides “white girl hair”. You might want to ask for stylist recommendations from other women with hair similar to yours. I usually go for something with longer layers on my first visit to a stylist, so if she messes up, I’m not stuck for a month or so while it grows out. I’m not a girly girl, so if I get a fancy schmancy haircut, I usually ask for a styling lesson. Depending on the salon, it’s usually free – $30.

    I had a huge problem with frizz, and I’ve only found two things that really work for me are the garnier styling products and a leave in conditioner by oyin handmade. I’ve still been reading, but have been kind of swamped the last month. Hope you find a stylist you really like.

  2. sweetsalty kate September 3, 2008 at 6:17 pm #

    What a fantastic idea. To be safe, I’d just cut off a foot or so. Seriously. Some nice, long layers to take out the bulk and give it some shape and lightness, but keep it long, like maybe 4-5 inches below your shoulders.

    That’s a relatively safe bet – and it will feel amazing and all bouncy and healthy, yet still long and familiar, still able to pull it back. That’s what I’d do (although that’s coming from me, who still has the same haircut I had since I was twelve). Then see how you feel.

    I can’t wait to see you post-pamper. I love the photo, by the way. I’d love to take a portrait of you with your new ‘do.

  3. Cynthia Page September 3, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    Do you have a hairdresser? Jessica, the chick who cut all my long hair off is at 165 Gordon. Of course, when you saw it on Friday, it was unwashed and 4 months post cut.

    My criteria were much the same as yours. I wanted something that didn’t emphasis the roundness of my face or my jawline, I wanted it to have a style but not require anything more (maybe) blowdrying, and I wanted to do something with the slight wave. Jessica advised not to go much shorter than shoulder length, that it needs layers but none should be shorter than the chin.

    Two sites with virtual makeovers that feature hair: http://www.taaz.com and http://www.marykay.ca/en/home/virtualmakeover/ . I just searched the net until I found some pictures I liked that were the right length (my other criteria was not short but not long enough to be able to put it all in a ponytail so that I wouldn’t fall back into doing that everyday).

  4. Hannah September 3, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    I actually chopped all my hair off last week – and it turns out that James will forever be remembered as “the baby who gave mommy a perm” because now my hair is all curly and fun.

    I really agonized over cutting it – and I’m so happy now that I did. I feel 10 pounds lighter and five years younger.

    I agree that long layers would be a good safe bet. And can I suggest finding someone who is comfortable doing a razor cut, rather than with scissors? I have very thick hair and until I found a hairdresser who used a razor, I always ended up with a terrible mess that stuck straight out. That’s my only useful suggestion, I’m afraid.

  5. thordora September 3, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    ok, that mary kay thing was funny as shit, but it did give me some ideas. After I made myself look like The Queen with blue black lowlights and too much bronzer. Snicker.

    hannah-pictures pease!

  6. Hannah September 3, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    I’ve put up a picture of the new ‘do on my site. Just because you said please, and manners are important. 😉

  7. sweetsalty kate September 3, 2008 at 9:32 pm #

    Thor, you totally have to post variations of yourself in the virtual room!!!! (please)

  8. Eden September 3, 2008 at 9:50 pm #

    Honey, my head is so big I can’t find hats to fit. It’s half the reason I took up knitting! I used to have the longer hair too. The key is for the hair “hem” to hit above or below the chin. Try “below” first, like brushing the shoulders. Also get a good straightener and try the Garnier Fructis products for curly or frizzy hair. I particularly like the “milk” but I can’t remember the exact name. You put it on damp hair and it runs about $5 a bottle.

    When I get my hair done and I like it, I do a pic. My suggestions for your similar face shape and hair type are there 😉

  9. Marcy September 3, 2008 at 10:34 pm #

    I’m not very good with hair — I like mine, and don’t plan to change it, but it’s not exactly stylish. I have a long face, with a tall forehead and long chin. Bangs helps with the length.

    When my hair is short (i.e. chin length or so) it waves just at the bottom — one big curl out on one side, and one big curl in on the other side, and no amount of brushing, blowdrying, or curling irons will make the curls go the other way.

    I hate layers — for me. I like to braid and do buns and things like that, instead of having it all just hanging. But if you like your hair loose, layers is probably a good way to do it.

    And frizz? It’s not just for you wavy folks — I have short hairs all over (they must break from being braided or something) and a little halo most of the time.

    Sometimes I think about a really short cut — all over shaggy, pixie kind of deal. But I’d have to get it cut often to maintain it, and right now my one annual haircut, done at home by husband with the clippers straight across, is much cheaper and more convenient. Plus I don’t know if my face is feminine enough to carry a short cut like that. With long hair it’s a little more obvious that I’m a girl.

  10. daureen September 4, 2008 at 12:23 am #

    I think you’d look fab in bangs. Go for something different, so you feel like a completely new woman!

  11. jennyspeaks September 4, 2008 at 5:27 am #

    ever considered cutting it shorter, like shoulder-length? short layered hair: might be nice.

    yap, i’ve got Frizzy hair which is neither curly nor wavy, it just sticks there like static once my hair’s down and everyday’s a bad hair day. anyways, good luck with your hair!

  12. Missy September 4, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    You’re cute when you scowl. 🙂

    I’m with the long layers. Just below or around the shoulders. Below the chin will help make your face seem longer.

  13. March September 4, 2008 at 10:57 am #

    Id just say don’t go too short right away, stay below your shoulders to begin with and then decide weeks after if you want it shorter…

    once you’re attached to long hair like you have it’s drastic enough to cut to below your shoulders, and remember you have to keep in mind the “shrinking factor”.

    when we arrived to Bremerton I decided to cut it some and while it’s not really short its shorter than I wanted and I’ve been hating it quite some… cant wait for it to grow longer….

  14. mamatried September 4, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Okay, I seriously could have written this EXACT post. I think our hair issues are the same so I’ll be thrilled if you figure it out and then I’ll copy….

  15. niobe September 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    I’m don’t know enough about your hair to offer much in the way of an informed opinion. Which, of course, won’t stop me.

    Here are a couple of suggestions:

    (1) beware the long layer concept. If your hair is anything like mine — thick and basically unmanageable — the layers will just give it more freedom to express itself. Which is not a good thing. Of course, if the issue is that your hair lacks volume — layers are definitely your friend.

    (2) If you’re not opposed to it (or sick of it) you might want to try some kind of new/different highlights or color. Sometimes that makes more of a difference than the actual cut.

    (3) Olive oil: I can’t remember who gave me this tip, but every once in a while, if my hair is getting really frizzed, I coat it with olive oil, wrap it up in a towel, wait for a few hours, then rinse it out. Result: silky, shiny hair. At least for a few days.

  16. thordora September 10, 2008 at 8:17 pm #

    I have evil hair as well.

    Trying to avoid dye jobs. That’s what got me here.

    I am going to try the olive oil hoever…

  17. Gabriel... December 24, 2008 at 5:46 am #

    Merry Christmas Thor, and I hope the New Year brings more of the peace you’ve been looking for…

Leave a Reply

