The haircute

29 Aug

 

Maybe you can’t tell that much, but she just walked in my door with a cute little pixie cut, looking like a big grown up little lady instead of a fey child running the woods and my heart stopped for a moment and I was my mother, standing in a doorway as her daughter walked in, changed into something else briefly, and her breath caught in her mouth and stopped her midstride, causing her to wonder how much magic truly was left in the world if her daughter held so much of it?

Tears, tears of happy, tears of sadness, tears of sudden nostalgia and endings and beginnings, tears of ifs and buts and what might be. In a second I held her close to me, tried to take her back into me but it’s too late. My baby, she’s becoming.

Her beauty though, it stops my heart.

2 Responses to “The haircute”

  1. Jupiter August 29, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Adorable 🙂

  2. March August 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm #

    she looks so horribly cute!!

    in a way she looks both older and younger at the same time…. she just looks adorable.

Leave a Reply

