Lost

28 Aug

Kids came back after being away for a few days with my in-laws. Great time had by all, kids are happy and tired, turkey tired, in-laws insist girls were fantastic. I preen and feel glowy, knowing that they all really did have a great time.

But them to bed. Hugs, heart expanding with the knowledge of how much I MISSED them, how much I love them, can’t imagine them out of my life.

Eventually wind down and fall to sleep. Toss and turn most of night. Wake at varying points, seeing if I can avoid letting the alarm go off.

Finally pass into a deep dark sleep.

Dream that someone has stolen my children, and I cannot find them.

Heart, crushed this morning, can’t shake this, even if in the end, they were all right all along.

3 Responses to “Lost”

  1. Marcy August 28, 2008 at 6:06 pm #

    I hate / love dreams like that, that are so real and poignant.

  2. mamatried August 28, 2008 at 11:06 pm #

    I am so unnerved when I have similar dreams about my children. The feeling stays with me for days it seems.

  3. thordora August 29, 2008 at 7:59 am #

    The worst ever was the one where Vivian and I were in a concentration camp, and they made me watch through a window as she froze to death.

    I still get weepy and upset just thinking about that, and it was 3 years ago or so.

Leave a Reply

