So I was thinking…

21 Aug

Since thinking is what I do best lately. Obviously.

I’m working through some things, while fighting the annoying little bipolar voices. (I’ve been winning. I’m stubborn as shit, and I refuse to be in thrall to myself any longer) The side effect is that at least right now, anything I write will be annoying or navel gazing. I’ve decided not to end this, not right now, but I’m not feeling the urge to post right now, not in this mental fuzzy head state.

So my question to you, dear readers, is who is interested in guest posting? I know all the cool kids do it, but I’m not doing it cause I’m sick or pregnant or anything. I want some view points that aren’t mine, something new, a break for my head.

The catch (and there always is one) is that I would like guest posts to link somehow into mental health/illness-it’s effects on your, your children, coworkers, parents, what have you. What’s been done to make it better/worse. How it’s changed your view of mental illness.

Let me know in the comments if your interested. I’m not sure if I’d want to do this for a straight week or a day here and there, but I’d love to get some new voices involved to give me a break. 🙂

But if it’s a bad idea, feel free to let me know.

17 Responses to “So I was thinking…”

  1. March August 21, 2008 at 11:21 am #

    I think it could be a great idea to gather voices around you…
    I’ll be thinking about it, I might be able to write something for you, though I don’t know if the writing would be any good. I know that mental illnesses touch many more people than we think or can see in others.

  2. mamaloo August 21, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    Count me in.

  3. Helen August 21, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    If you like, I could write about one of three recent experiences I had with mental illness:

    1. Fear of flying on planes (and cultural stigma about medicating for it)
    2. Hypochondria that drove my husband and coworkers crazy
    3. Postpartum depression

    If you’d welcome it, it would be most cathartic for me to write about the hypochondria, because I was even afraid to talk to my therapist about it.

  4. crunchy carpets August 21, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    I would do a bit about ‘my’ struggles….if you like….

    I do find writing about my depression better than laying in bed just analyzing it.

  5. daisybones August 21, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    I’d be totally in. I have a “My Brand of Crazy” half-post in draft that would work:)

  6. thordora August 21, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    I’ll email everyone enmass over the weekend. 🙂 Thanks all! I can’t wait!!!

  7. Marcy August 21, 2008 at 3:05 pm #

    I’d be willing to write something, but since I’ve already blogged a lot of what I think I have to say, you’d have to give me a more specific question. Sounds like you’ve got plenty of other folks, though, so if you don’t feel up to a specific question that’s fine too.

  8. summer August 21, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    I’ve only commented here and there so I’m not a ‘voice’ on your blog per say but I’ve been reading…I think I’ve worn out my small following of readers on my PPD issues but can’t seem to stop thinking about them and how specifically they effect my kids so if you wanna hear about that I seem to never be at a loss for words on that subject.
    I love the idea and look forward to hearing others voices on this particular topic.

  9. Jennifer August 21, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    Dayam, I have a bazillion stories concerning this, if there is a direction you’d like me to go, I can probably go there. Mental illness has permeated every aspect of my life.

  10. janieve August 21, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    I’d love to write something down. I have a lot of things I’d like to dive into and start dealing with.

  11. Freya August 22, 2008 at 2:05 am #

    I’d consider, if only to sharing another perspective. I haven’t written much on my end but I’ve had a post spinning in my head for weeks now. I may even write it as myself, not my current pen.

  12. bromac August 22, 2008 at 9:27 am #

    I have a decent poem on being an empath. Could also just write something from the perspective of bpII. Definitely not a fantastic writer, though, so I won’t feel offended if you don’t use me as all of those above have blogs and write well and all that jazz.

  13. thordora August 22, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    If everyone could send me their email address, that would be awesome-not everyone posts with their real addresses, and it doesn’t take much to confuse me. 🙂

  14. thordora August 22, 2008 at 9:50 am #

    and writing quality is in the eye of the beholder. Some people think Steven King is awesome-I can’t fucking stand him.

    I want your thoughts and words, not perfect spelling. I can fix the spelling. 🙂

  15. Jen August 22, 2008 at 9:56 am #

    I can barely be arsed to post on my own blog so I ain’t volunteering but you have so many insightful commenters that I’m looking forward to reading their guest posts!

  16. misspudding August 22, 2008 at 6:18 pm #

    I’ll give you something about how I seem to be surrounded by “damaged” women. Not you, but others. And how it allows me to reflect on all of the work that I’ve done and some slight feminist ranting.

    You have my real email address in the email I sent you a couple of weeks ago.

    I won’t be upset if you don’t choose me. Since I don’t really blog anymore, though, it’d be lots of fun.

  17. B September 2, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Sorry I’m late, but I’m interested. I actually have never had a truly free forum to write about my struggle with depression. If you wouldn’t mind sending me the e-mail, I’d love to write something.

Leave a Reply

