Dew Dandy

3 Aug

sitting, comfortably

pressed against concrete singing

(Sweet About Me) under my breath

keeping time on my jeans

hunched ladies from my neighbourhood happen by

stop, staring at my obliviousness and ask

Are you ok?

Just dandy, never better

left the kids at home and whistle

it’s so quiet without them I felt like singing.

knowing glances wander down the way.

 

air like this, it’s like the earth is

making love to you without touching

the embers of a day, bluebrown in the sky twilight

asking for nothing aside from the sweat

beneath your eyes. air like this sweet, riding the ends

of summer rings and whispers yesterday

 

thing about having kids, thing about being

just dandy in the dew lit night is

you count back and think

has it really been 5 years since I was untethered

wandering under skies like these at will

void of hurry or worry, winkin or nod. Has it

really been so long since cigarette smoke

twined it’s way around my body and I

fell effortlessly in love with the world.

 

Has it really been so long since I watched the same sun

rise and fall?

 

air like this you see

seduces, trollop. Linens and silks and

morning glories, waved underneath our noses

combed through our hair painted on red lips. air

like this is fire, burns colorless yet gasping.

air like this, is enough to remind us

on a cloudy muggy night that

all things, all matter of anything

are perfectly understandable.

3 Responses to “Dew Dandy”

  1. sweetsalty kate August 3, 2008 at 9:05 pm #

    how delicious… I love this.

  2. niobe August 4, 2008 at 6:01 am #

    all things, all matter of anything
    are perfectly understandable.

    I like that. I like that very much.

  3. thordora August 4, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    thank you both. This came out weird since I lost the first draft (FRAKING WORDPRESS) and I want to tweak it, but that air the other night….so heavy and possible…

Leave a Reply

