When I grow up

31 Jul

So I know there’s a 2 year nursing program in town (with tuition that is half one SEMESTER of university was). So I know that I want to do this-4-5 years of thought has solidified this.

But what I can’t figure out is how we eat if I take 2 years to go back to school….

9 Responses to “When I grow up”

  1. Marcy July 31, 2008 at 9:35 am #

    Way to go!

    Does Canada have an equivalent to WIC (Women, infants, and children services)? Here they provide milk, formula, food…

  2. daisybones July 31, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    When I was in college, the student loans provided enough (mostly) for food, rent, transport, etc. I’m in debt now, but it enabled me to live through school. Are there parallel programs/loans in Canada?

    Best of luck with making this happen! What a lovely career vision:)

  3. Jen July 31, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    I don’t know from logistics but I’m pulling for there to be a way for you to get this done!

  4. Lala July 31, 2008 at 10:02 am #

    I don’t know either but I’m glad you’re thinking that way, I’m thinking that way too.

  5. Helen July 31, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    Dora, that is so awesome that you are thinking of getting this degree. What I didn’t understand from your post: are you worried about your family not eating because you don’t have the TIME, or the MONEY?

    If it’s the time (and not so much the money), I would suggest bringing home healthy takeout meals more often, asking your hubby to cook once in a while, and/or trying the extremely quick 101 recipes on this website: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/18/dining/18mini.html?pagewanted=1

    If it’s the money, I would suggest asking your university about financial aid programs: both loans and grants, and maybe even awards you can win to offset the tuition (most universities have these, and you can get them by writing a simple essay). If you volunteer to be a teaching assistant for a class, perhaps you could get part of your tuition waived.

    Best wishes!

  6. thordora July 31, 2008 at 10:17 am #

    Money. I remember what I made on student loans. It was barely enough then.

    More thought. Much more thought. I’d have to apply in a few weeks for this year, which is too soon. But next year….

  7. Helen July 31, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    Another suggestion that one of my friends always practices (but I’ve never done myself):

    Take Sunday afternoon to plan and make meals for the whole week. She makes loads of chickpea curry, lentil curry, and meat stews that she freezes or refrigerates, then serves throughout the week. It is easy to add rice or bread and a vegetable (frozen veggies are great). Other ideas you could make: a huge lasagna, chili, vegetable stew, chowder, etc.

  8. Netter July 31, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    I sure hope you find a way to make this work!

  9. mamatried July 31, 2008 at 11:17 pm #

    I hope so, too. I wish I would have gone into some field in health care versus becoming a teacher.

    I am only working part-time and it is tough but we are doing okay. One thing we did was pay ahead on our mortgage (don’t know if you rent or own) several months and I paid up our car insurance for 6 mos and got all the dogs to the vet, etc. while still on 2 incomes. I wonder if there is any type of job you could do on campus that would allow you to study at the same time (like the testing center) so that might leave you more free time if you do end up working part-time.

Leave a Reply

