How many days does sorry count? Draft

3 Jul

inside the whitewash of my mouth

tangled there, thorns and bramble

there hung a moment, and instant a

hateful thought borne of anger

pain and a tinkling sadness I thought

left behind in that

sinking ship I like to call a past.

 

It cannot be borne, nor

retrieved and I, in my

blinding Alexander like pique

don’t hear the air crack and seize, don’t hear the

whiplash of a heart break.

 

Caught up am I. Seething am I.

Oblivious, wrapped in caustic am I.

 

From my rage my eyes, the broad bridge

of a nose, my thin lips arise, my ears

uncover, I pierce the skin of my madness

only to peer through the corners and feel that

all have left me.

 

Something changed.

Like the wind between summer and winter, that

warm biting edge on a breeze that smells like sleep something

shifted, softened, sighed and released.

 

I have smothered this love, coated it in wax and

walked the other way, my work sinking

deeper, festering. I have

brought down the walls and

collapsed the cellars.

 

My hands holding the dirt

of what once was between us.

3 Responses to “How many days does sorry count? Draft”

  1. March July 4, 2008 at 6:34 am #

    you’ve touched me.
    your words circle my mind.
    so powerful, each and every time…

  2. thordora July 4, 2008 at 7:58 am #

    thank you march. I don’t say thank you to you enough. 🙂 You crazy moving COUNTRIES by yourself momma…

  3. March July 4, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    if I make it to Italy, you’ve got to come and visit 🙂
    thank you T, really… I’ve learned and keep on learning from you more than I can say. I still want that coffee some time if I make it closer to you, either that or you’ll visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

