Siblings

23 Jun

Tell me folks, what’s the worst thing your children have done to each other, the thing that scared you.

 

Trying to tell if mine are within the range of normal.

18 Responses to “Siblings”

  1. Judy June 23, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    The 4 yo has scratched the 2 yo and left marks. THey’ve hit each other over the head with metal and wooden trains and tracks. My daughter, when she was … 9 I think opened a door and practically knocked out her 18 mo brother, but that one was an accident. Thrown dirt in each other’s hair – that’s pretty frequent.

    Now I’m curious about what your girls are doing.

  2. thordora June 23, 2008 at 8:20 pm #

    Mogo caught Vivian about to put a pillow over Rosalyn’s face, on in the midst of doing so. I’m more than a little disturbed when I put this up against some of her other behaviours-hyperactivity, hitting herself, inappropriate emotions at times. It might just be normal, but I don’t know. Something just feels off.

    I can’t never tell if I’m watching too hard for it or not. And I’m paranoid due to the issues on both sides of the family.

  3. Cynthia June 23, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    Can’t speak to my own since I only have one holy terror. I can, however, tell you some of the things my brother (19 months younger) and I did.

    I smacked him full on in the head with a hockey stick (on purpose). Same with a ping pong paddle. He whacked me in the head with a full tinker toys can (scar to match), and used to collect bees in a jar, shake them and start to open the lid in my vicinity because he knew I was terrified. Many more things of course, but many things that were definitely in the realm of being very dangerous and/or evil.

  4. Mad Hatter June 23, 2008 at 8:36 pm #

    I am one of 6 kids. If there had been a gun in the house when we were growing up, one of us would be dead now. I am not joking. I once threw a screwdriver at my brother’s head. It missed but lodged 2 inches into the wall. He would often hit me, kick me, knock the wind out of me. I mostly saw my actions as self-defense or revenge against a first assault. No matter what, it was all nasty and there’s no way to sugar-coat any of it.

  5. Jennifer June 24, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    I’m curious at the responses myself, being an only child I have to rely on glen, but he is much younger than his sisters (the oops baby). I have caught the 5 yo sitting on the almost 2yo with a pillow on her head. I’ve also caught her tying things around her neck trying to lead her around like a dog. The baby is starting to fight back and is rather violent with her older sister. My eldest is a giant wimp when it comes to that stuff, so when there is an episode of the eldest getting all clingy/kissy/smootchy/squishing her into the carpet and the baby hauls off smacks her or yanks her hair there is instant tears and drama.

  6. March June 24, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    I’ve caught them pushing each other and smacking each other in the head/face, but then again Mackenzie is still 19mos, so I’m sure we’ll have more to answer sometime from now…

  7. cinnamon gurl June 24, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    My sister went after my brother with a hammer, my brother held pillows over my face on many occasions… we were pretty merciless.

  8. Hannah June 24, 2008 at 10:55 pm #

    Pillows were held over faces a lot when we were growing up. My sister taped my other sister to the stair railing with duct tape and left her there when she was supposed to be babysitting. We pushed each other out of trees, hit each other with sticks, scratched, clawed, bit, and yelled.

    I don’t think you need worry (much) because this stuff is normal. And remember too that Viv probably doesn’t realize the dangers of putting a pillow on Ros’ face. The hitting herself I’d watch… but the sibling stuff? Especially given that Ros gives as good as she gets? I think you can probably set your mind at ease on that one.

  9. Marcy June 25, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Oy. I don’t know. I’ve been thinking a lot about things my sister did to me (I honestly don’t remember anything comparable that I did to her… selective memory?) and thinking it’s therapy fodder.

    Normal? Does normal mean non-scarring, insignificant, nothing to worry about? I’m not sure it does. It may just mean to be expected, to be prepared for. You accept that it’s going to happen, that it has happened, but you still must work through it and fight it and work to heal it as much as possible.

  10. hergesmith June 25, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Haven’t got nippers, but when I was a kid me and my sister appear to have been uncharacteristically nice to each other. We forever arguing now though.
    Go figure.

    Hey, Thordora, how you been?

  11. thordora June 25, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    You know Herge, I was just thinking about you yesterday…saw something about a Dalek…strange.

    Back at it then?

  12. meredith June 25, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    My sister put a vacuum on my head and ripped out a good sized chunk of hair. Does that count? I think I threw a crystal ashtray at her.

    I can’t think of much else physical though. And my little one isn’t physical enough yet. I am waiting though.

  13. Eden June 25, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    Wish I could help. They’re pretty good together. I think they’re working on ganging up on us. Worst they do is wrestle or push a little but they laugh the whole time.

  14. Yolanda June 25, 2008 at 11:40 pm #

    when i was about 7 and my sister was 5, i threw a pencil at her. she was across the room. i didn’t thikn about the consequences, it was the closest thing i had to throw.

    ummm… what else. i yelled and screamed at her, called her names, made her get stuff for the rest of us kids because she was little and we were busy.

    boring stuff. the usual.

    20-ish years later, we’re the best of friends. seriously. we’re totally close now. like sisters.

  15. hergesmith June 26, 2008 at 4:15 pm #

    Yep, back at it. Might even resurrect the daleks at some stage. Never know.

  16. thordora June 26, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    I saw about Rowan. That’s terrible. I didn’t correspond with her much but she was always lovely to everyone.

    You certainly are a flighty bugger.

  17. radical mama June 26, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    It’s not any one thing they have done that worries me. It’s the anger present when it happens that scares me. Sometimes I am afraid to leave them alone because I know that they do not understand how dangerous that anger can be when taken too far. I could just see one of them shoving the other at the top of the stairs… seriously.

  18. thordora June 27, 2008 at 10:21 am #

    I think that’s it-we forget that our children can and do get angry, and that we need to help them.

    My inability to deal with Rosalyn at night without screaming isn’t helping either. But by 10pm, after being up since 6:30, it’s like I either scream or throw things. This child is so infuriating I can understand where Vivian is coming from sometimes.

Leave a Reply

