Pride goeth

26 May

Today I had to take Vivian to her school for one last orientation session-she got to ride the school bus, and sit in a class while I endured yet another literacy lecture. I had primed her to have FUN FUN FUN! so we wouldn’t have a repeat of a few months back where she bolted from the gym crying. Of course, having a group session with 40 or so small children in gym, howling and laughing at 6pm isn’t really the smartest thing I’ve ever seen.

So I had made sure that Vivian was ready, that she had little friends with her to use as worry beads, that she knew what to expect. (Again, being prepared for what would happen instead of reacting to it helps)

When the time came, I couldn’t be prouder.

She lined up, she walked away without a whimper or a noise. She smiled and waved and had fun. All day I’ve been telling her how proud I am of her.

Before bed, she turned to me.

“Mom?”

“yep.”

“Thank you for being proud of me.”

Heart….about to burst…

15 Responses to “Pride goeth”

  1. Erin May 26, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    So lovely, these times. Forever times…

  2. Hannah May 27, 2008 at 6:52 am #

    I’m so glad she handled it well – I know this has been really bothering you, the anticipation of Vivian heading out into the big wide world.

    “Friends to use as worry beads” – heh.

  3. thordora May 27, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    I’m getting used to it though-makes me wonder how weird my mother was about the whole thing…she’s my first born, you know? It’s hard…and she’s so awesome, and I worry about that being destroyed.

    her “worry beads” were a cockroach and a grasshopper I believe, tucked in her pockets…it worked..thankfully.

  4. Jen May 27, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    OMG, that kills me dead.

  5. Marcy May 27, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    Very sweet. (Not the bugs. The thank you.) How reassuring and encouraging.

  6. Gwen May 27, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    Yay for both of you!

  7. bromac May 27, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    Oh, my heartjust melted! What a sweetheart.

  8. bine May 27, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    oh my … my heart hurt a little on reading this. while i can never experience this myself i could feel that thank you in my heart. this must be so wonderful for you.

  9. Julie Pippert May 27, 2008 at 2:43 pm #

    Oh that is AWESOME. Fantastic.

  10. Bon May 27, 2008 at 9:43 pm #

    oh sniff. oh well done. and a cockroach, huh? damn, she’s one cool kid.

  11. March May 28, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    I’m taking notes…
    this post warmed my heart, thank you.

  12. thordora May 28, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    oh Bon, she really is, and it’s fucking awesome.

    I get a little squeesquish when I think of it too March…. 🙂

  13. radical mama May 28, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    That is so precious.

    Sounds like you did a good job preparing her, too.

  14. Jenn May 28, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    Awww thats so sweet!

  15. mercurial scribe May 29, 2008 at 2:49 am #

    AWWWW!

Leave a Reply

