If all else fails, color their world.

16 May

                          

Most mornings around here are hurried, irritated moments. I don’t rise early-I tend to stay in bed as long as possible, since I never shower in the morning (today being an exception so I don’t gross Mad out of the car). Hurrying to get dressed, eat, create a lunch etc etc with a three year old doing her best autistic imitation is very….charming to say the least, and generally leaves me in a foul mood. So much so that I’m looking forward to waking at 6:30 again in the hopes of sneaking out of the house. The fan we leave on in their room is for our benefit more than theirs after all.

This morning, in the interests of peace, no screaming and no repeat of yesterdays “yes I want eggs, actually no, I don’t, I want Krispies and I just dumped all the eggs in the garbage” I offered pancakes-something that takes just a little too much time and brainpower most mornings. I make them from scratch after all-and yes, it’s better this way, and no, it’s not that much harder. I wouldn’t have the brain for Aunt Jemima most days.

Rosalyn started howling “I want dem cowored!!” and I had no idea what the hell she meant until Vivian translated gibberish into “She wants them colored.

Ah. Food coloring. My friend.

It’s amazing that 3 drops of blue food coloring can make everything right in a preschooler’s world. A few pink drops in the milk makes it even better, and I feel a lot calmer than I do most mornings.

Although not having to go to work kinda helps too. 🙂

******************************************

So in a few hours, I am off to meet a fantastic group of women who blog. I’m not that anxious-sorta nervous, but excited to have a much needed weekend to clear my raging brain, and to meet some lovely ladies I’ve become so warmly acquainted with. My father said many warm things about Chester as well, so I look forward to that too. Something new-always a favorite.

So cheers for the long weekend folks (in Canada at least). It’s May 2-4-have a beer for me!

9 Responses to “If all else fails, color their world.”

  1. Jen May 16, 2008 at 8:42 am #

    Oh, have a wonderful time! You so deserve a weekend all for your very own!

  2. Netter May 16, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    B would love those! Have fun this weekend.

  3. Meg May 16, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    I hope you have a remarkable time. I am sure you will. Are you coming back sometime soon?

  4. Judy May 16, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    Oooh, I need to use food coloring more often. How fun!

    We make (well, my husband makes) pancakes from scratch too. We make most of our baked goodies from scratch, and once I started doing it that way I can’t understand why people use mixes – it’s not really any easier or less time consuming, and it almost always tastes better from scratch.

    Have fun!!!

  5. Jason Dufair May 16, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    I used to do monster eggs, but found out that it’s apparently *some* food coloring that makes kids go crazy when they eat candy, not the sugar itself. I can never keep track of which coloring it is, so I just make my kids eat plain boring shit now. 🙂

    Have a great time at your blog-council-thingie!

  6. Nat May 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    have fun this weekend!!!!!

    And very cool blue pancakes!!!! 😛

  7. Erin May 16, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    See, it’s all about perspective. Blue pancakes are the same damned pancakes, aren’t they? Or are they?

  8. marcelarhodus May 17, 2008 at 12:31 am #

    have so much fun this weekend!

    I’m sort of green with envy… but the good kind of envy 😉

    and for the pancakes, you know how pathetic I am with those, so…

  9. bine May 19, 2008 at 4:36 pm #

    eeeeewwww … this is revolting. blue pancakes?

    hope you have a great time. oh, i know, you already had. i’m late on this.

Leave a Reply

