Fine Motor Skills, here I come.

3 May



Fine Motor Skills, here I come.

Originally uploaded by thordora

Why is it that no other parent has mentioned the sheer quiet inducing bliss that BEADS are?

After picking up the odd bead on the sidewalk now and again, I broke down and bought a bad of mixed beads at Wal-Mart. I figured they’d play for a few moments, and that would be it.

Oh no. Hells no. They LOVE these things. A ball of twine and a 5$ bag of plastic beads. All’s quiet on the eastern front. Plus, you can also have the kids make relatives “necklaces”. I have no idea if they’ll wear them, but it’s still kinda cool. The crowning moment was watching my soon to be 70 year old father making a small necklace for Rosalyn. So they amuse seniors as well.

Next 3 year old birthday a friend has-they’re getting beads. Parents be damn.

15 Responses to “Fine Motor Skills, here I come.”

  1. Bon May 3, 2008 at 9:29 pm #

    snort.

    perhaps my 88-year-old-grandfather needs him some beads. i think he’d have plenty to say about that, but he might secretly have fun.

    tell Viv & Ros that the Blog’Er crew all need necklaces. πŸ˜‰

  2. Judy May 3, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    Ooh, beads!!! I want some!

    I wish my boys would sit and do something like this. My girls (my daughter and step-daughter) both LOVED anything crafty, from about the age 3 on up – beads, painting, coloring, those little platic peg things you make patterns with and then iron together. My boys, though? Give them crayons, they want to eat them or color on everything but the paper. Beads are “coal” for the trains. And when we tried to paint their dollhouse, Guthrie decided to paint his brother’s hair. It’s been 3 weeks, and Turner still has pink paint in his hair!

    I want to do some crafts, dammit. Can I come visit and make a necklace?

  3. marcelarhodus May 4, 2008 at 1:03 am #

    beads are a hit and miss for us… depends on the day.
    somedays she stays for hours with them, some others she’s done in 5 min. (usually when I want her to last longer, sigh).

    the necklaces are cute indeed and their pride in them is priceless.

  4. Jen May 4, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    We love beads here. It’s a time-intensive project but it takes enough concentration to stop the steady stream of yap for long enough to give Mommy a break. I love to string them too. I find it very calming. And heaven knows I need calming πŸ˜‰

  5. Gwen May 4, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Oooh, fun! Have you guys tried the Perler beads? Those are good for the fine motor skills/endless mess, too.

  6. Steph May 4, 2008 at 9:55 am #

    Sadly, neither of my older children has had the patience (or manual dexterity) to make actual stuff from beads. Unless we’re willing to count some excellent vacuum cleaner effer-uppers. In that case, my two oldest ROCKED some beadwork in their time.

    I pin all my crafty dreams on Tricia. She’s only a year old, but I’m already encouraging her to get funky with Cheerios.

  7. radical mama May 4, 2008 at 10:36 am #

    Assuming that the children have an attention plan… πŸ™‚

    My kids say that they like beads and jewelry but I have a whole box of the stuff that was abandoned after about 10 minutes and never rediscovered.

  8. radical mama May 4, 2008 at 10:36 am #

    That’s span. Not plan. Oops.

  9. Marcy May 4, 2008 at 4:24 pm #

    Have you ever seen Montessori “practical life” stuff? Little tiny pitchers of colored water to pour into little tiny cups. Beads to sort by color, or to pour from one container to another. I was amazed at how captivated some of the kids were by such activities.

    I have such mixed feelings about crafts. On the one hand, woo-hoo for creativity and freedom — on the other hand, so much crap to display or store or throw away.

  10. bine May 4, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    i had to laugh about that title in my feed reader, i already suspected what was coming.
    i would definitely wear that necklace she’s making!

  11. thordora May 4, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    Oh Marcy, don’t worry. We have those exact same thoughts. That’s why the Perler beads haven’t come home with us yet. πŸ™‚

    They’re under strict orders to pick up the fallen, and mostly they listen. Which is weird, but cool.

  12. Mogo May 4, 2008 at 8:53 pm #

    Attention Plan. I think Radical Mama has provided me with the name of my next band, if I ever happen to be in another one.

  13. Mogo May 4, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    and yeah, them listening is definitely weird. not that I’m complaining…

  14. radical mama May 4, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    πŸ™‚

  15. Heather May 6, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Oh god. Beads here would only spell utter disaster. I have a klutzy child. Enough said.

    Playdough, though – HOURS of entertainment.

Leave a Reply

