The other night…

21 Apr

                                                 

A good time was had by all. However, it came crashing home the next morning with vivid hangovers that we are NOT 20 anymore. Oy vey. Pan-galactic Gargleblasters make head hurt.

We had a great room aside from the pillows. They weren’t pillows. They were sachet’s of air playing tricks. I I couldn’t figure out if my head hurt from the drinking, from the pillows, or forgetting my lithium (shut up Gabriel, I know…I know) It was the “Executive” floor, so the place was full of reminders to stay quiet and stuff to help you sleep.

I’ve never had trouble sleeping when travelling for work, but maybe that’s just me.

At one point, laying on the bed in the afternoon talking, the light coming in through the window was so beautiful I wanted to cry-to lay in that silence, in that sacred space between just the two of us-if I believed in angels, I’d think they were hovering. I’ll hold that memory forever-the cool white light off my husband’s skin, making him glow.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, spending more on a meal than we’ve ever spent. (At least without expensing some of it) It was incredible, watching Mogo enjoy simple, good food.

Personally, I could have had an entire cheesecake. It was….I can’t even explain it-let’s just say an in house pastry chef is a GOOD thing.

Eating breakfast by the window, talking in the morning sunlight, nothing to distract us from each other-it was lovely. We’re so weighed upon by everything in our life, as most people are, that taking some time to sit and eat and enjoy each other’s company seems so special and foreign. How sad is that?

It was a short, but good night. I wish we could have more of them. Sans the headache of course.

6 Responses to “The other night…”

  1. Mogo April 21, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    please get rid of that picture. srsly.

  2. thordora April 21, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    nope. 🙂

  3. Gabriel... April 21, 2008 at 10:39 am #

    Happy happy, joy joy, take your Lithium… I thought only Zaphod’s in Ottawa made Pan-galactic Gargleblasters.

  4. thordora April 21, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    evil evil things they are. EVIL.

    I’ll stick to my raspberry vodka and tangerine lime pop mix.

  5. meredith April 21, 2008 at 10:52 am #

    Honestly, when we went to NYC in March, I never wanted to come home. Having a meal in real time (not eat-it-before-the-kid-screams breakneck speed) eating at whatever time of day suits, laying in quiet in the middle of the afternoon cannot be understated as a slice of what I believe Christians think Heaven is.

    I am so glad you had a nice time. Do you feel refreshed?

  6. Barbie April 22, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    Hahaha Zaphods = super sketchy! Lots of people hang out there who think they are vampires. And I’ve never had that drink before. What does it have in it? Sounds like I should try it, although I am the worst for getting head aches. Lol. Glad you and Mogo had a good one!

Leave a Reply

