Oh Noes! Oprah is teh devil!

21 Apr
12 Responses to “Oh Noes! Oprah is teh devil!”

  1. kate April 21, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    AAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!

    Don’t drink the Kool-Aid?! Do they not get the irony in that statement? If these Christians weren’t so thoroughly brain-washed, they wouldn’t be threatened by other ways of thinking.

    That is something I’ve just never been able to make sense of: if Christianity is supposed to be “all-loving” and “forgiving”, why are Chrisitans so judgemental? If they are so certain that their belief system is THE way, why not just quietly live it and shut the hell up? Let us heathens and sinners live our lives as we see fit?

    I may have to blog about this…but of course I wouldn’t be able to leave it at merely posting that video. ha! Do you mind if I nab it? How did you come across it?

  2. thordora April 21, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    I found it on Perez Hilton of all places. Nab away. I can’t really stand Oprah, but who cares what she and her sheepdogs do? She’s got people reading, and for that I must give props, even if I won’t buy a book if it had that gawd awful sticker on it.

  3. Gabriel... April 21, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    When the next Book is written Marshall McLuhan’s texts will be the Old Testament, there will be Gospels according to Howard Stern, Geraldo, Martha Stewart and Donahue… and all of them will be referring to Oprah with a capital She.

  4. kate April 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    I know! I’m the same way! When discussing a book I’ve read that she later “endorsed” I always make the point of saying “But I read it before Oprah did!” And when I owned my bookstore, I’d make sure to order the copies of the books WITHOUT her sticker. Publishers thought I was SO weird!

    There are many things I like about her, but I refuse to buy into anything just because someone tells me I should. But yes, she’s got people reading and that is a “good thing.” (to quote Martha – ha!)

  5. thordora April 21, 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    I’ve done the same thing…(so ashamed….) 🙂

  6. mamaloo April 21, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    “planning to establish a Department of Peace. This must be stopped!”

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAH!

    Wow, just wow.

  7. thordora April 21, 2008 at 1:45 pm #

    Check out their other videos. Actually, smoke some weed first, THEN watch them.

  8. Carin April 21, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Wow, you sure find some doozers. Why can’t people just live and let live? and the cool aid thing. A deeper part of me knew it, but Kate said it so perfectly. Hell they can’t even come up with their own slogan. They have to use a Jonestown reference.

  9. Gwen April 21, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Since Satan and I are such good buds, does this mean I have to start watching Oprah now? Please say it isn’t so!

  10. Gabriel... April 21, 2008 at 2:26 pm #

    Carrington Steele, the author of the book being advertised in the YouTube, was caught for plagiarizing portions of the book.

    You can find more on it, including links explaining the stolen bits, here: http://www.sliceoflaodicea.com/?p=590

    The kind of new age wishy-washy bullshit religion Oprah preaches is dangerous in the same way a diet of cotton candy is dangerous. Once a year at the Exhibition is great, but a steady diet of the crap will waste your mind.

  11. thordora April 21, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    I figure if people are stupid enough to believe anything that woman says, they deserve what they get.

  12. Eden April 22, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    I thought Wonderpets were teh devil. I’m confused.

Leave a Reply

