This little piggy……

14 Apr

My first born hates having her hair brushed, or otherwise toyed with. She’s low maintenance. Loves pink, hates her hair. I’m cool with that.

But some part of me has been just itching to put pigtails and braids and ponytails in someone’s hair. Which is funny, since I’m just like Vivian.

Yesterday, fresh from the shower, I had my hair in a braid. Rosalyn looked up and said, very seriously of course “Mummy, you have your hair tied up?”

Why yes I told her I do.

“Mummy, want my hair tied up too.”

And so was born the CUTEST pigtails I have ever seen. Can you bear it? There is something so bloody adorable about a 3 year old in pigtails.

My mother is smiling somewhere, having finally got a girlchild who acts like one. πŸ™‚

14 Responses to “This little piggy……”

  1. bromac April 14, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    My daughter also fights my fixing of her hair. She would rather it hang in her eyes constantly. I waste money on the damn hair bands b/c she is perpetually ripping them out of her hair and throwing them aside. But I just love the pigtails and braids.

    I see I am not the only one in need of practice in the part department…….:)

  2. thordora April 14, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    Be gentle….. it was my first time. πŸ™‚ And she moves. A lot.

  3. Gwen April 14, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    I agree; they are darling. Neither one of my daughters is down with hair fixin’, so I’m assuming you won’t mind if I live vicariously through yours?

  4. Mad Hatter April 14, 2008 at 10:48 am #

    My daughter used to let me do ANYTHING to her hair. Pippi braids, Tinkerbell buns, pony tails, pig tails, fountain pony tails… You name it. A couple of months ago, she cut me off entirely. Now her hair hangs in her eyes and I feel just a touch sad that I can no longer play with her gorgeous, honey hair.

    Enjoy the moment, Thor. As with so many parenting moments, its beauty lies in its ephemeral nature.

  5. Heather April 14, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    I have to bribe Freyja with new hairbows every couple of months, it seems. That’s when she starts getting antsy.

    “Oh, I think you need new bows. Let’s go online and pick some new ones out.”

    Her hair looks fine with nothing in it, due to the haircut she’s got…but dang if she doesn’t look even cuter with just a bit of it swept back with a bow in it.

    As for a part, Freyja parts on the side naturally, just like me – so she often looks lopsided.

  6. bromac April 14, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    Oh, I wasn’t trying to be ugly. Just empathizing. Mine has to get the knee-rib crunch and I STILL can’t get a straight part. It used to frustrate the hell out of me when she would come home from her grammy’s with this perfectly parted hair. Eh, wtf?! But, hey, grammy’s have had a lot of practice with wrangling a hair band into a toddler. We’ll get there.

  7. thordora April 14, 2008 at 2:52 pm #

    Granny’s have special powers indeed. πŸ™‚

  8. Marcy April 14, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Amy used to let me put hairbows in and she wouldn’t bother them, although they’d slide out from moving her head in the car seat or taking her coat hood on and off. Now she reaches up and pulls them out as soon as they’re in. I’m not currently bothered… some day maybe she’ll want braids or other help with hair stuff, and I’ll still be here.

    And it’s probably just as well, because I’m such a perfectionist… I’ve redone a bow several times in just seconds because I haven’t been happy with the part, and since there’s no toddler clamps available (and they really wouldn’t be a good idea) there’s not going to ever be perfect parts.

    It’s just on days like today, with the blue socks, the khaki wool pants, the blue and white sweater, that a bow would clinch the “I’m a girl” thing.

  9. marcelarhodus April 14, 2008 at 5:52 pm #

    those are perfect!

    I bet she felt all “pretty” in them, did she?

    she looks adorable, really…

  10. juliepippert April 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    My oldest can’t stand her hair “messed with.” My younger likes “fancy.” She’s also three and I agree nothing cuter than a little one in pig tails, although we call them “pony tails” “dog ears” and “cat ears” depending on how we do them. πŸ™‚

  11. thordora April 14, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    oooh! Cat ears might work on Vivian!

    It’s bizarre-I’m so NOT girly and yet this just makes me all gooey. I blame my mother.

  12. Marcy April 15, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    A wet comb helps the part a little.

  13. karriew April 15, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    I’ll see your Flickr squee, and raise you an EEEEEEEEE! πŸ™‚

  14. radical mama April 17, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    Awww! My girls like to have their hair done but I keep their hair pretty short. (They don’t object.) So we stick to all kinds of barrettes and headbands.

Leave a Reply

