The Walk

10 Apr

No more strollers.

No more carry me mommy CARRY ME!

No more paranoia about warmth, wind, rain.

Old enough to carry themselves they are. Old enough to

hold each other’s hands, and smile as they do so.

 

Old enough to make their mother smile, and well up at the edges,

her eyes full with blessed tears, with a luck we’ve made.

Oh the fantastic ordinariness we revel in.

Our last spring of just us, no interlopers.

One last smothering bond.

 

The snow is melting, and so it seems is my heart.

 

11 Responses to “The Walk”

  1. bine April 10, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    oh, such big girls now … sweet enough to make my heart melt too.

    gosh, your town looks like gabe’s. can’t believe how much snow you’ve been getting this winter.

  2. thordora April 10, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    I actually grew up near where Gabe is. Not close, but same types of towns. My street, in places, looks like those towns.

    I looked at Vivian last night and thought, my smiley tiny baby, where are you? She’s such a big girl…and Rosalyn is 75% comprehensible now…

    so fast…too fast…

  3. charlotteotter April 10, 2008 at 2:15 pm #

    Our three-year-old walks everywhere too now, and it is fabulous. I love having walking children.

  4. daureen April 10, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    ‘…Oh the fantastic ordinariness we revel in…’ I just f*cking love that bit.

  5. Mogo April 10, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    it’s so cute when they do that… now if we can just curb the insistence on dragging Teddy and Lady (or Brown Bear) everywhere…

  6. thordora April 10, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    If they carry it, I don’t care…..

  7. misspudding April 11, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    This post just tugs at my heart strings. Such a precious shot.

    You and Mogo are both very lucky.

  8. bromac April 11, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    What a wonderful picture and rumination.

  9. katrin April 11, 2008 at 11:36 am #

    I know it’s a total cliche, but THEY GROW UP SO FAST.

    My 14 year old is taller than me, has fuzz on his lip and understands sexual innuendos.

    BUT last night at 11pm he was sobbing uncontrollably because he lost an English file that he hadn’t saved properly on his computer. And in that instant, he was my little Peter again, the chubby baby with the ice cream tub on his head and a dinosaur in his hands. He was still my little boy, as big and old as he is. IT was kind of weird!

    I don’t really miss the old him that much, because the new him — the man-to-be — is so intriguing to me. It’s all one long journey.

    Key lesson in life (as you seem to know already): appreciate it all while it’s happening!

    Katrin
    http://www.momstimeouts.com

  10. Nat April 11, 2008 at 1:26 pm #

    Gorgeous…. 🙂

  11. daisybones April 14, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Beautiful. Enough to make me *almost* run upstairs and beg my Bu for more spermz.

    Who are the coming interlopers? I’m confused.

Leave a Reply

