Reasons.

28 Mar

I am not around because:

1. I am training my other me at work, which TOTALLY cuts into internet and thinking time

2. It’s been STUPID busy at work lately anyway

3. I’ve been writing-yes, actual writing in my head and on the puter in my spare time. I’m waiting to focus my energies in that direction right now, which means not leaving much space for other things, like blog topics.

4. Everyone, except for me, is hacking and coughing and sick in our house. It’s annoying. And loud.

Eventually I will return with more interesting fare. For now, all I can say is that I saw a real live actual CROCUS outside last night. Granted, it was huddled against the building praying for it’s life and trying to stay warm, but hey, it’s a flower.

Spring isn’t far. If I were wacky, I’m sure I’d say blessed be or some such nonsense. (And yes that WAS a subtle dig at a couple of my favorite people.)

🙂 Cheers all. Tell me, what are you up to in real life at the moment?

19 Responses to “Reasons.”

  1. Nat March 28, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    I found some ADORABLE little dress-up sets for your little boober. 🙂 Otherwise, not much to report. LOL But glad u’re still alive and tickin’. 😉

  2. thordora March 28, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    awww-she’ll LOVE THAT. You must come visit. Or we will (next weekend-not this one-hoping to see kitties this weekend)

  3. daisybones March 28, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    creative explosion. remains to be seen if actual productivity ensues:) we have crocuses, azaleas, dogwoods, and my lilac has tiny green hints of budding. is glorious!

  4. daisybones March 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm #

    hey wait a…. blessed be yourself;)

  5. Gabriel... March 28, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    I’m wearing pants. It’s fun.

  6. radical mama March 28, 2008 at 3:11 pm #

    I am desperate for flowers! I have been obsessed with checking the progress of my spring bulbs. I swear I planted crocuses last year, but I haven’t seen any pop up yet. Fucking squirrels. My lilac has buds on it. I rescued it from the shady back yard so hopefully it actually blooms this year.

    Mudding and taping the kitchen is on the agenda for the weekend. Good times!

  7. Caitlin March 28, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Just got back from the hospital. One of my friends had her first child yesterday, so I was able to get in a good visit with her today. I didn’t get a chance to see her baby in person, but saw a couple of pictures of him and he’s adorable :).

  8. marcelarhodus March 28, 2008 at 6:52 pm #

    you can officially hate us here, we’re completely surrounded by cherry blossoms, everywhere you look you see patches of pink and white, and if you’re in the right areas you see purple as well (plum blossoms).
    It’s just beautiful (I had never seen this before Japan)…

    though we’re having downpours as well…

    what are we doing?
    Just finished all our paperwork for Italy and completed the bunch of steps to have my son get his official Mexican birth certificate (yes, I had procrastinated on that)… I have such a weight off my shoulders…

  9. thordora March 28, 2008 at 7:11 pm #

    I didn’t realize he was born in Mexico! I always assumed the US for some stupid reason…

    and yes. I’m jealous. The simple picture you’ve painted of it here is pretty amazing…

  10. kate March 28, 2008 at 7:12 pm #

    Real life? Right now? Counting the minutes until I can leave work and start my weekend….hoping my sweetie will want to go out to dinner….looking forward to tomorrow when we will paint the last room in our house and then my best friend is coming over for a sleep-over with Thai food for dinner and lots of wine after the kids go to sleep!

    And wishing I could see some flowers.

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

  11. Hannah March 28, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    In real life – and this is a preview to a post I’m composing in my head for maximum comedic effect – I am recovering from a dinner party held for my father-in-law’s 70th birthday.

    Which was actually planned for tomorrow night, but hubby sent the email invitation with the date of Saturday, March 28th – and all invited guests just wrote down the 28th. And showed up on my doorstep tonight at 630 despite a snowstorm, bearing wine and expecting foodstuffs.

    I pulled it off. But, um, I would much rather have spent the evening sprawled in front of the TV with no bra on, eating leftover Easter chocolate.

  12. Gabriel... March 29, 2008 at 2:53 am #

    I’ve taken my pants off. Good times.

  13. thordora March 29, 2008 at 7:57 am #

    I say that almost every night, but about my bra. Now THOSE are good times….

  14. landismom March 29, 2008 at 11:43 am #

    Oy! Stupid-busy at work too, plus, why did I sign the Bee up for two activities this spring?

    Oh, yeah, and kindergarten registration for my son. And getting the taxes done. And lots of other busywork that needs to happen for our family to keep itself together and housed for another month!

  15. Marcy March 29, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    Gabriel… lol.

    I am awaiting dinner at my in-laws. I made the salad — poured a bag of spinach in a bowl. shook on some cranberries, almonds, and mandarin oranges, and cut up some carrots.

  16. marcelarhodus March 29, 2008 at 6:24 pm #

    “I didn’t realize he was born in Mexico! I always assumed the US for some stupid reason…”

    He was born in Japan actually, and due to our situation his first birth certificate is the American one, we processed that one in January last year (a couple months after he was born), it’s not the same birth certificate you get if they are born in the States, it’s a Registry of Birth Abroad (basically states he’s an American citizen though not born in the U.S.). We did all the paperwork in the American embassy right away cause of where we live…

    Both Morgan and Mackenzie, by being my children have the right to the Mexican citizenship as well. Morgan has had a Mexican birth certificate (and Mexican passport) since she was 6mos. Mexico allows double citizenship till they are 18, and then they must choose one. I had procrastinated on completing all the paperwork to get Mackenzie the Mexican birth certificate cause the Embassy here requires a lot of paperwork and it must be translated… Back in the Consulate in LA where I got Morgan’s Mexican birth certificate it was a very quick process in comparisson… We still have to sign the birth certificate in an official ceremony before the Embassy official on April 10th, for which the father must be there and I’ll kill him if he’s not.

    Morgan has been to Mexico multiple times, Mackenzie still has not made it there yet, he should on our way to Italy.

  17. Bon March 29, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    you saw a crocus?!?!

    i ache with teh jealousies.

  18. bine March 30, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    thor, lol at the bra thing! i do that too, first thing every night, with glee!
    gabriel, that sounds like fun indeed.
    marcy, that sounds so delicious!
    went out to dance for the first time in ages yesterday, and that was fun. it looks like spring is finally here.

  19. thordora March 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    wow. I haven’t danced in years.

Leave a Reply

