SPCA or another way?

24 Mar

So I’ve been scanning the SPCA listings for cuteness(current favorites-Smudge, Frisky, Felix, Nikie, Davey, Bell and Checkers)

Mogo isn’t a big fan of going the SPCA route again. There’s the 85.00 fee, and the fact that it’s a 15 minute walk from the closest bus stop.

I know someone who will have kittens. However, I’m bothered by the thought of getting a kitten(s) from someone who refuses to fix his cats. It feels like I’d be supporting his idiotic decision or something.

I looked in kijiji. Found someone who had an adorable white kitty. Find out after emailing that oh, kitty might have internal damage as it had been abused, but that they couldn’t afford the vet. Jebbus.

I told her to call the SPCA immediately, that kitty is most likely in pain if you can guess that there’s internal bleeding!!!!!!

If we do manage to give a kitty a home through freecycle or some other classifieds, we’d still have to fix it and get it’s shots-which means a few trips to the vet, and extra expense. 85$+cab starts to seem awful cheap at that point.

And despite what happened with Velcro, most adoptions from the SPCA end well. They can’t tell if someone isn’t telling them the whole story when they surrender an animal, and it’s unfair to expect them to.

So what say you? SPCA or hapless human donor? And if SPCA, who’s your favorite? (psst-I love the ginger….)

(And thank you for all the kind words. I know it’s just a cat, but it was so sudden and unexpected-the last time I had to put a cat to sleep, 6 months into my pregnancy with Vivian, he was like 9 years old, it had been a few years, and he was very very ill. This was out of left field, as the night before, he had been purring on my chest like a mad man. Poor widdles….)

14 Responses to “SPCA or another way?”

  1. bine March 24, 2008 at 8:01 pm #

    i fell in love with frisky.
    but maybe you should pick a female so you’ll be less likely to go through that blocked-urinary-tract-thing again?

  2. radical mama March 24, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    In the last year, we have had 3 shelter cats. The first was hit by a car (poor guy, he was such an awesome cat but was so miserable being indoors only), the second refused to use the litter box after two months of trying, so we returned her and got Lilith. Lilith rocks. She’s indoor/outdoor and a great mouser. We also have a kitten (Magrat) that I randomly picked up on the way home from our dairy farm. There are always pros and cons. The nice thing about kitteh is that she is indoor only, whereas with shelter cats, I let them do what they are used to even though our road is kinda busy. It seemed cruel to keep a cat indoors if it was used to being out. But overall, our shelter cat experience was very positive and I totally agree with you that it feels a little wrong to encourage people to not fix their cats. The other nice thing about kitties though, when you have kids they get used to the battering and develop some immunity to it (or the intelligence to run far, far away) whereas an adult cat may just bite or scratch. But yearh, the cost involved in shots and fixing.. oy. Free kittens are NEVER free for responsible pet owners.

  3. radical mama March 24, 2008 at 8:21 pm #

    And I like the last three.

    But can I say how HILARIOUS I think it is when people use “gender” instead of “sex” when referring to animals? I did not know that animals acted socially constructed roles! 😉

  4. Marcy March 24, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    Smudge is adorable, but Nikie sounds like a go since you’ve got little ones to consider.

    Our kitty was a shelter kitty. We got her at a year old. She has had some health problems — a skin condition that comes and goes in her hind feet, a handful of seizures over nine years, and most recently a bladder stone. But she is affectionate and playful and great with Amy.

    I’d be inclined to go to a shelter again.

    For one thing, I don’t think I ever want a kitten — at least not one that I have to housetrain myself.

  5. Eden March 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    LOL @ “gender” — so true 😉

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong w/ getting the cat from the guy instead of a rescue organization. $85 is ridiculous. Minerva cost us $40 (it would have been $20 but I never sent in her “yes we had her spayed” paperwork, although we did).

    If you go the rescue route, I say that they’re all adorable but one might have a personality you fall in love with. We went in to find a dog & came out with Minerva. You never know what will happen.

  6. Mogo March 24, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    I want to stick with a female this time as I’m really not interested in repeating the “blockage” issue. Smudge and Nikie are cute, I also like Choupette (even though it’s dumb name that would have to be changed)

  7. radical mama March 24, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    $40, Eden? Damn, that’s cheap! Our cats were around $65. (But if you bought one, you got a second for $1.)

  8. Marcy March 24, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Are urinary tract problems less frequent in male cats? Our female just had a bladder stone removed after three months of urinary tract symptoms that otherwise defied treatment. (Why didn’t we x-ray to begin with?)

  9. Judy March 24, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    I tend to think shelter animals is doing the right thing, but they can be trouble. (Although we’ve had more trouble with dogs that way.) I went through 3 cats once when the local shelter was having a problem with distemper, and they died within a few days of bringing them home. (Ugh – reminds me of my then 4-year-old daughter trying to feed a dead kitten.)

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with adopting from litters though – where I’m from, if they don’t get a home soon, they are liable to be drowned or dumped, and most shelters at least try not to do that.

    I have been a bad pet owner in the past. We had a farm house on 3 acres, and I didn’t want to own a gun, so we had a dog. (Best. Dog. Ever.) We also got two kittens from a friend who had a litter, and we waited too long to have them fixed, and found out they were both pregnant at the same time. Then a stray moved into our barn, and in a week’s time we had 15 kittens in our barn! And most of them survived!

    Now we have none – I’m too allergic to have indoor pets, and there’s no need of “barn cats” or “guard dogs” here. I wish we could have one though, mostly for my boys.

  10. Judy March 24, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    Okay, that was worded poorly. I’m half asleep. Obviously shelters don’t drown or dump their animals. I meant they try not to put them down unless/until they have to.

  11. Cam March 24, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    SPCA all the way baby! I wouldn’t have it any other way, you just can’t deny that you’d be helping to reduce the number of animals unnecessarily killed every year because of over crowded shelters. I vote that you go and meet the ones your interested in a see what they’re really like for yourself then decided who would bets suit your family.

  12. Hannah March 25, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    I’ve acquired cats through friends, through shelters, and from our vet’s cat adoption program. There are pros and cons to all.

    The nicest thing about a shelter cat is that they are checked in advance for health problems, and are dewormed. And that you know you’re saving a kitty cat’s life.

    No matter where you get the cat, it’s going to be expensive, sadly. Our Ruby is at the clinic as we speak getting spayed. That plus the shots a week ago plus the microchipping because Halifax is implementing a cat bylaw? Close to $300. Sucks.

  13. Gabriel... March 25, 2008 at 12:26 pm #

    Definitely RSPCA… and definitely get another animal: http://www.newswise.com/articles/view/31716/

    Totally off-topic, you may want to look into this if you need something to get pissed off at:

    http://ca.news.yahoo.com/s/afp/britain_internet_health
    http://www.missbimbo.com/

  14. Candy March 26, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    I guess I’m more particular with dogs, and their place of origin, than with cats. Most of the cats I’ve ever had came from the local animal shelter, and we’ve always done just fine.

    We have two now – one is the offspring of a feral stray that a friend of ours took in just before she gave birth. He’s a pisser.

    But my littlest boy, my Weegee (short for Luigi if you were curious) is a ginger, from the pound. He was 8 weeks old when I brought him home. I think he thinks I’m his mother. He follows me everywhere. The love of my life! Oh…after my kids and husband of course ::cough::

Leave a Reply

