Spring sucks thus far

23 Mar



More KITTEH!

Originally uploaded by thordora

This morning, we had to put Velcro to sleep.

His poor bladder and urinary tract were blocked up again. We thought we fixed it last year. I couldn’t bear the thought of fixing it every year, the stress on his system.

So the needle it was.

Death hurts so much more when you believe there’s nothing after it.

Good-Bye Velcro.

26 Responses to “Spring sucks thus far”

  1. Kathy March 23, 2008 at 11:19 am #

    Aw, I’m sorry. I put a cat down a couple years ago. It’s never an easy thing to do. Rest in peace, Velcro.

  2. Nat March 23, 2008 at 11:22 am #

    Awwwwwww… 😦 Poor kitty. That sucks, girl. I understand what you mean about not believing in anything after death though. I want to beleive in SOMETHING after death, but… Most of me doesn’t.

    I dread the day when I need to do that with Daisy. (Although they say EVIL NEVER DIES. So I am thinking she’ll be around for a while) 😉

  3. Caitlin March 23, 2008 at 11:37 am #

    I’m sorry. *hugs* It’s always hard when a pet gets that sick and someone has to make that decision. That’s one of things I hate most about being an adult – being one the one responsible for making decisions like this and being too old to take solace in knowing that my pets will go to the “better place”.

  4. thordora March 23, 2008 at 11:50 am #

    I said something like that to Mogo when we were ‘talking” about it.

    “Why does the right thing always have to be te hard sucky thing.”

    I’m very weepy today. I forgot what it feels like to have that sharp blade of grief in my chest.

    Already the kids are on board with the get a kitten idea, and Rosalyn agrees that an orange kitteh would rule. I think a kitten will be better for them-and for me. Less chance that it will die in a year. 😦

    I loved that cat. I really did.

  5. meredith March 23, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    I am so sorry. I had no idea that the kitty’s name was Velcro and just laughed and laughed. There might not be anything after this life, but that cat just made me giggle after it was gone.

    You know I went through this last fall. It sucks even more when they aren’t old. I am very sorry for your shitty Easter.

  6. kate March 23, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty. It’s so horrible to lose a beloved pet; it just isn’t right that their life-span is so much shorter than ours.

    Sending kitty hugs your way.

    xo
    kate

  7. Heather March 23, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    So sorry for this sucky day. Attachment brings us joy but also sorrow.
    May he always be a part of you and may memories of him make you smile when you are ready for that again.
    {hugs}

  8. misspudding March 23, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    On the upside, maybe your cat is really Jesus and will be resurrected today!

    (I know, I’m sick, sick!)

    I mourn for your loss. Even if Velcro was just a kitty, he was part of your family. I am not looking forward to this in a few years…

  9. Jen March 23, 2008 at 4:45 pm #

    Oh no! I’m so sorry 😦

  10. Mogo March 23, 2008 at 5:13 pm #

    despite any suckiness today, I have to say that last picture of him really captured his essence well

  11. Suburban Mum March 23, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    I’m sorry. Velcro is a great name. I’m giving my Lizzie an extra big cuddle tonight.

  12. Marcy March 23, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    Goodbye, Velcro.

  13. marcelarhodus March 23, 2008 at 6:13 pm #

    oh my gosh!
    I”m so sorry.
    I’m reading here with Isabella curled up on my lap and I’m tearing up a tthe thought.

    how are the girls doing??
    what did you tell them?

    I’m sorry Velcro is gone, really sorry.

  14. Bon March 23, 2008 at 7:50 pm #

    what a great face. i’m sorry, Thor.

  15. Judy March 23, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    Oh, so sorry to hear about your cat. 😦 I had to put one down once, and it was something we could have prevented, and it just broke my heart. It can be so hard to lose a pet. I hope your girls are doing okay with it.

    Velcro is one of the coolest cat names I’ve ever heard!

  16. landismom March 23, 2008 at 9:53 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your cat. It is tough to lose a pet that is like a family member.

  17. Mad Hatter March 23, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    I’m sorry, Thor.

  18. Mogo March 23, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    and to think, she hated his name and wanted to change it when I brought him home from the SPCA…

  19. thordora March 24, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    I still hate that name. I wanted to call him Faust.

  20. Gwen March 24, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    That’s no good, T. I’m sorry.

  21. Hannah March 24, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    So sorry, you know we had to do this last fall after poor Polly got hit by a car and it is just a terrible decision to have to make.

    I gotta agree though, Velcro is a pretty kick-ass name.

    Hugs to you all.

  22. Candy March 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    Ohhh poor Velcro. And poor you. It’s so hard to lose a pet. Especially when you have to decide, and can’t explain it to them.

  23. ann adams March 24, 2008 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m so sorry. Even when we know it’s the right thing, it’s still hard and so sad.

  24. bine March 24, 2008 at 7:58 pm #

    awwww. how sad. big hugs to you.

  25. Eden March 24, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    So sorry to hear that. Minerva sends her sympathies as well 😉

  26. Barbie March 24, 2008 at 10:58 pm #

    I’m sorry. Two easters ago my family put our cat Mocha down. We had Mocha since a few weeks after I turned 2. So I remember how shitty that was. I’m sorry.

Leave a Reply

