No, we all use dogsleds.

11 Mar

I’m in Target (woot!) buying shaving cream (gotta shave legs for important meeting tomorrow-must wear cute shoes and skirt).

The super nice and sweet cashier (how nice is that. SERVICE. The armpit could learn a few things from this place) is reading a flyer as I dig for American quarters since apparently Canadian quarters are the work of the devil.

“This is a nice car.” she says with her sweet cute American accent, flipping the flyer over so I can see.

“I guess.” I mutter. “I don’t drive. We don’t own a car.”

She gives me that blank look I’ve become adjusted to getting from Americans when I mention we don’t have a car.

“I’m Canadian” I offer in the hopes of making it easier on the poor thing.

“Why not?” she asks

“Money. Pollution. We’re closet hippies.”

“How do you get around?” she almost whispers as she hands me my change.

“The bus, or we walk.”

“The whole country?”

 ……………..sigh…………..

13 Responses to “No, we all use dogsleds.”

  1. Dragon March 11, 2008 at 11:32 pm #

    LOL. “The whole country?” Awesome. I didn’t know we had cute accents. I’m Californian, the only people in the world without an accent ^_~ (want proof? waqtch a movie! ) But really, the look on her face must have been priceless.

    –Dragon

  2. marcelarhodus March 12, 2008 at 5:32 am #

    I’m sure you felt like replying back more than one brilliant thought…

    don’t you just love what comes out of the mouths of people?

  3. Hannah March 12, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    Tee hee hee. “The whole country”. You always think Rick Mercer is exaggerating until you talk to some Americans…

    Hate to break it to you but CBC cancelled MVP, too. But “Little Mosque on the Prairie” lives on. *glargh* Maybe the whole country should be walking to work.

  4. radical mama March 12, 2008 at 9:02 am #

    Yes, because access to “the whole country” is a daily concern. 😉 Too funny.

  5. Jen March 12, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    *dies laughing*

  6. kate March 12, 2008 at 11:35 am #

    I KNEW there was something very strange about you people.

    damn closet hippies. 😉

  7. Bon March 12, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    yes, it’s one of our weird national characteristics…we have legs, almost all of us. they walk, the legs do. quite a sight. it’s really the only way to tell us Canadians from our friends south of the border. 🙂

  8. Gwen March 12, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Yeah, but aren’t you in, like, Kentucky? or Tennessee? Give us Americans a break, mang, we aren’t all like that.

    How’s that dog sled working for you, btw?

  9. Eden March 12, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    “There’s just one guy who rides around with a donkey cart and you have to jump on and off b/c he can’t stop. It took my brother 13 months to get to Vancouver. And if you miss the cart, you have to wait about six years before he comes around again. That’s why we say ‘ay.’ It’s not really ‘ay’ but ‘hay.’ It’s our code to remind each other to chip in for donkey fuel.”

  10. thordora March 12, 2008 at 11:56 pm #

    ROFL! EDEN!

  11. writeonyo March 12, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    you guys are the ones with the accents, eh?

  12. Cori March 13, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    LOL!!!! This totally cracked me up 🙂

  13. Jenn March 14, 2008 at 6:57 am #

    LOL… I went to Chicago once and I was in a hotel and this sweet teenage girl noticed my accent ( I didnt think I had one) and asked me where I was from. I told her Toronto Canada and this look of excited awe came over her face and she said…. You live in an igloo don’t you?… How do you like being in a hotel, I assume there are no beds in the igloo!….. I laughed so hard it took me a few minutes to even answer her. she was shocked to hear that like them we have 4 seasons and Toronto actually has more buildings than Chicago.

    Have you ever seen the show “Talking to Americans?” Now that stuff is funny!
    “Caribu (which are native to Vancouver Island) often wander over to Halifax, there are only two ways to get them to go back to Vancouver, Either they can be strapped to the bottom of a plane and air lifted back (but they wander back again in a few days).. or you could pelt timbits at them. How do you think we should solve this problem?

    The answers Hillarious! Most of the answers were along the lines of… It doesnt sound very humaine but if they wander back in a few days after being air lifted, I guess the only effective method would be to pelt timbits at them.

    LOL

Leave a Reply

