3 Years Later

8 Mar
3 years.

3 years since I gasped and screamed as you fell from my body, whisked away to a small warm table as you took up my battle cry.

 

Unravelled you are. Blanket let loose, hat askew you run wild with it. With “it”-smelly, jam covered, magical pinkness it.

 

My daughter, my charm, my what if-you fear nothing. We dote, we pet, we cradle, we soften. We love.

 

and oh, expanded hearts cannot contain this.

unexplained. or rather

over explained and verbose.

melty. sticky melty flowing.

 

If a life was coal, and a body

the shifting plains

my heart my darling

my heart shall be your diamond.

 

 

Happy Birthday honey bear.

 

11 Responses to “3 Years Later”

  1. Barbie March 9, 2008 at 9:23 am #

    I hope Ros has a fantastic birthday! I hope you have a fantastic day too!

  2. juliepippert March 9, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    What a fantastic photo and expression of love. This is BEAUTIFUL.

  3. thordora March 9, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    We didn’t lose power from the ice storm! It’s a great day already!

    And thank you Julie.

  4. Judy March 9, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    Awwww how sweet!!!

    happy Birthday little one. Have a beautiful day.

    (And my little Guthrie will be 4 tomorrow. How fast the time goes.)

  5. bine March 9, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    happy birthday, ros! and may you become as strong and witty and outspoken as your mom.

  6. Nat March 9, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    It’s a good day! 🙂
    Hope Ros thinks so too!!!
    Love that picture of her… 🙂

  7. Hannah March 9, 2008 at 5:32 pm #

    Happy birthday to mini-you. And BTW I’m SO HAPPY you didn’t lose power from the storm – I saw the forecasts and was wondering how badly you’d fared.

  8. Jen March 9, 2008 at 6:59 pm #

    This is beautiful~happy birthday Rosalyn!

  9. marcelarhodus March 9, 2008 at 7:05 pm #

    Happy Birthday Rosalyn!!

    may you never loose your zest for life!

  10. Mad Hatter March 9, 2008 at 11:37 pm #

    Happy Birthday. 3 is swell.

  11. jen March 10, 2008 at 1:41 am #

    happiest. to you both.

Leave a Reply

